Driver Licensing Information - Renewing Your Maryland Driver's License

The Maryl​and Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA) will notify you by mail and email prior to your license expiration. The MDOT MVA notice will include instructions on how to renew your driver’s license.   

Due to federal requirements, customers will be notified upon renewal if they need to provide MDOT MVA with documents.  If you have already been notified, click here to create your checklist and schedule an appointment.

Individuals with a limited term driver’s license will continue to be issued a license with a period of validity that equals the duration of one’s lawful status in the United States. They can only renew by visiting an MVA Branch Office.

Note:  The MDOT MVA cannot mail or forward a renewed license to an alternate address. If you need to change your address, please click here.

If you have changed your name since your last license was issued you will need to complete your renewal in person. You must change your name with the Social Security Administration prior to coming to the MDOT MVA. Click here​ for the list of appropriate documentation and to schedule an appointment. 

Non-Commercial Drivers who are turning 21 years of age, can renew their driver's licenses 7 days before they turn 21.

If your Maryland driver's license has been expired for one (1) year or more, click here.

Additional information:

The MDOT MVA is now printing and mailing one of the most secure driver’s licenses, learner’s permits, and identification (ID) cards in the nation.  All cards are now delivered through the mail within 4-7 business days.  The new cards incorporate cutting-edge security features to help protect against identity theft and fraud.  The new cards also meet all state and federal REAL ID standards. More information on our new secure cards, can be found here.

Your driver’s license will be mailed to the address on record at the MDOT MVA.  When you receive your new license, you must destroy your old license.  Maryland law allows only one driver's license per driver.  Please call the MDOT MVA at 1-410-768-7000 if you do not receive your new license after 30 days.  You may call 1-800-492-4575 if you are hearing impaired.

Apply to Register to Vote You may apply to register to vote when you renew your driver's license. Click here for more information.

Organ Donation Information​

Brain Injury Trust Fund Information


Medical Status

For the safety of all drivers, the MVA must consider your medical status as part of your license request. Medical conditions, which could affect your driving, must be reported to the MVA. Please submit with your application, a certificate from your doctor indicating the onset of the disability, diagnosis, and medications, if any. All medical data is kept confidential and will only be used by the MVA to determine your qualifications to drive.

To Renew Online or by MVA's Self Service Kiosk

If your renewal notice indicates that you are eligible, please renew online. All Maryland drivers who are eligible to renew online are also eligible to renew at an MDOT MVA Self-Serve Kiosk.

Drivers aged 40 and over must have their vision results submitted electronically by an Authorized Online Vision Certification Provider. The vision certification must be within twelve months of renewing.

To Renew by Mail

Renew your driver's license by mail if you have received a "renew by mail" notice. In order to ensure delivery of your license prior to expiration, please submit your “mail in renewal” application at least 15 days before your license expires.  If you find any errors in your information, you must visit an MDOT MVA office to renew in person.

  • Complete your renewal application (Your new license will be mailed to the address printed on your Maryland Mail-In Driver's License Renewal Application)
  • If you are over 40, you must have your doctor complete and sign the "vision certification" portion of your renewal form. Please note, the vision certification portion of the renewal form is the only form that can be "read" by the MDOT MVA technology that processes your license by mail. If you use a separate form, you must renew in person.
  • Mail in your renewal with the proper fee.
  • Your new license will be mailed to the address printed on your Maryland Mail-In Driver's License Renewal Application. The MDOT MVA cannot mail or forward a renewed license to an alternate address.  If you need to change your address, please click here and then you can renew by mail.   

To Renew in Person

If you have been notified by the MDOT MVA that it is time to renew, you should start the process here.

To improve customer service and reduce wait times, customers under the age of 40, who are eligible, must renew their driver’s license online, or by mail or MDOT MVA Kiosk.  Renewals will no longer be completed at an MDOT MVA branch office counter for these customers. You can renew your non-commercial driver's license online.

If you have changed your name since your last license was issued, you must change your name with the Social Security Administration prior to coming to the MDOT MVA. Click here(ODG) for the list of appropriate documentation and to schedule an appointment. 

How do I renew my license if it has been expired for one (1) year or more?

To have your license reissued, you will need to pass the applicable vision screening, knowledge  and driving skills road test;  You may be required to present your age, identity and residency documents. Please start your application online.

Notes:

  • You may be able to take the knowledge and skills tests on the same day. (Subject to MDOT MVA branch availability)
  • Click here for how to prepare for your driving skills test (Put in Link)

Please click here to prepare your document list and schedule an appointment. (Links to ODG)

Active Military Personnel and U.S. Foreign Service Members and their dependents

For information on requirements for military personnel and U.S. Foreign Service members (how to apply, renewal, etc.) please refer to the Military and U.S. Foreign Service Driver Licensing​ page.

The license may be renewed without additional tests, other than vision screening, if the license is still valid or has been expired for LESS than one (1) year.

If you are not in the military but outside of Maryland and not able to return before your license expires, you may be able to obtain a temporary license or renew your license while out-of-state.

Veteran Designation:

You may be able to add a designation on your driver's license, indicating that you are veteran of the United States.  There is no fee for the designation, please click here for more information.

Fees:

The Maryland MDOT MVA renews non-commercial driver’s licenses for 5 to 8 years. The length of validity will be computer generated and the driver license renewal fee will vary according to the number of years for which the license will be valid. Commercial driver’s licenses will continue to be valid for a maximum of 5-years.

If the customer's license has been expired for one (1) year or more, the new resident driver’s license fee is charged.

License Renewal Refusal Due to Maryland Tax Deficiency and Unpaid Unemployment Insurance Contributions

If the applicant has not paid all undisputed taxes and/or unemployment insurance contributions to the Maryland Comptroller or the Secretary of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation, or provided for payment in a manner that is satisfactory to the unit responsible for collections Maryland Law prohibits the MVA from:

  • Renewing a non-commercial or commercial driver's license,
  • Registration Renewal
  • Replacement Tag Renewal
    • Substitute Tag
    • Substitute Sticker
    • Tag Transfer
    • Tag Transfer with Renewal plates 

To Resolve an Outstanding Tax Obligation:

The MVA does not accept payment for taxes. 

  • Please make payments, online at the Maryland Comptroller's website www.marylandtaxes.com. Click "Online Services" to see all the options available to pay outstanding individual or business taxes.
  • If you cannot pay the debt in full, you may contact the comptroller via:
  • By phone to discuss payment options.
    • Individual income tax liabilities toll free 1-855-213-6669
    • Business tax liabilities call 410-649-0633.

To Resolve an Outstanding Unemployment Insurance Obligation:

The MVA does not accept payment for unemployment contributions. 

Businesses with unpaid unemployment insurance obligations should contact the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation to satisfy their debts or make acceptable payment arrangements.  You may contact them:

Once the liabilities have been resolved, the MVA will be notified that the hold on the driver's license or vehicle registration renewal/transfer has been lifted.  Please allow up to 2 business days after the receipt of payment or approved payment plan for the hold to be released. 

*Please do not wait until the deadline to renew to address your unpaid tax or unemployment insurance contribution debts.

Note:  Vehicle transactions that may not be processed include:

  • Registration Renewal
  • Replacement Tag Renewal
  • Substitute Tag
  • Substitute Sticker
  • Tag Transfer

The Commercial Driver's License (CDL)

For information on CDL requirements (how to apply for a CDL, renewal of a CDL, etc.) please refer to the CDL Information​ page.

Contact Information:

MVA
Driver Services Division
6601 Ritchie Highway, NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062

For telephone questions:
MVA Customer Service Center: 
1-410-768-7000
Deaf and Hard of Hearing:
1-800-492-4575

​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Driver's LicenseLearner's PermitIdentification CardSources of ProofRenewing Your Driver's License Information​​​​​​​