Registration - Special Use Vehicles

Registration requirements for the following special use vehicles are discussed below in answer to commonly asked questions. Either scroll down to the appropriate question and answer, or click on the special use vehicle in which you are interested.

If your vehicle has not yet been titled, also review the applicable requirements. Common titling processes include:

For Low Speed Vehicles, see Titling - Low Speed Vehicles


Fees:



Contact Information:

MVA
Mail In Registration Unit

6601 Ritchie Highway, NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062

MVA
Mail In Title Unit

6601 Ritchie Highway, NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062

For telephone questions:
MVA Customer Service Center:    1-410-768-7000
TTY/Hearing Impaired:                     1-301-729-4563



How do I register a vehicle as an ambulance?

An ambulance is an emergency vehicle, as defined by Maryland law. You can apply to register your vehicle as an ambulance (class C) in person at any of the MVA’s full service branch offices. You also can mail the required documents to the MVA’s Mail in Registration Unit in the Glen Burnie office, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying. Licensed tag and title services will charge a fee for this service.

The registration application documents include:

  • Application for Approval of Emergency Vehicles and Service Vehicles – An ambulance must be authorized for use as an emergency vehicle before it can be used as an ambulance. For more information see Authorization of an Emergency or Service Vehicle.
  • Excise Tax Exemption-the transaction is excise tax exempt when the vehicle is authorized as an emergency vehicle and owned or leased by:
    • A political subdivision of the State;
    • A volunteer fire company; or
    • A rescue squad
  • Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate - The Maryland State Police form certifies that your used vehicle meets Maryland safety standards. It is valid for up to 90 days from the date issued. If you bought the vehicle from a Maryland dealer, the certificate is valid for 6 months from the inspection date, or when the odometer reading advances 1,000 miles from the reading at the time of inspection, whichever comes first. The inspection certificate is not required:
    • When the vehicle is new, unless the odometer reading is more than 7,500 miles; or
    • When the vehicle is already titled and the certificate was presented and accepted by the MVA at the time of titling.
    • When the vehicle is registered as a Class C ambulance or certain funeral service vehicles

Under certain circumstances, additional information and/or forms may be required:

  • Application for Special Tag for Authorized Emergency Vehicles - This form is needed if the ambulance is authorized as an emergency vehicle and you wish to obtain special emergency license plates. For more information see Authorization of an Emergency or Service Vehicle.

[Return to Top]

How do I register an Autocycle?

You can apply to register your autocycle in person at any of the MVA's full service branch offices. You can also mail the required documents to the MVA's Mail in Registration Unit in the Glen Burnie office, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying. Licensed tag and title services will charge a fee for this service.

To register an Autocycle, you will need to complete a Autocycle Certification form​ (VR-339). This form will certify the vehicle as meeting the following criteria:

  • Has to have two front wheels and one rear wheel;
  • Has a steering wheel;
  • Has permanent seat(s) on which the operator or passenger is not required to sit astride;
  • Has foot pedals to control acceleration, braking, and if applicable, a clutch; and
  • Is manufactured to comply with federal safety standards for motorcycles

The operator of the Autocycle must possess a valid class A, B, or C driver's license. An Autocycle cannot be used for the driving skills test. A Helmet must be worn unless the vehicle has an enclosed cab. Unless the vehicle has a windscreen, eye protection must be worn.

The registration documents include:

  • Application form - When your vehicle has a Maryland title and you are registering and titling it at the same time, the title can be used as the application form for both transactions. If the vehicle's title was issued by another state, use the Application for Certificate of Title to apply. If you have already titled the vehicle in Maryland and now want to register it, you will need to complete the Application for New Plates/Stickers and Transfer of Plates or Non-Title Trailers.
  • Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate - The Maryland State Police form certifies that your used vehicle meets Maryland safety standards. It is valid for up to 90 days from the date issued unless you purchased the vehicle from a Maryland dealer. Then the certificate is valid for a period of 6 months from the inspection date, or when the odometer reading advances 1,000 miles from the reading at the time of inspection, whichever comes first. The inspection certificate is not required: when the vehicle is new, unless the odometer reading is more than 7,500 miles; or when the vehicle is already titled and the certificate was presented and accepted by the MVA at the time of titling.

*Under certain circumstances, additional information and/or forms may be required.


How do I register a vehicle as a coal-mining vehicle?

To be registered as a coal-mining vehicle (class EPO), the vehicle must be used only in the operation of a coal mine. You can apply to register your vehicle as a coal-mining vehicle in person at any of the MVA’s full service branch offices. You also can mail the required documents to the MVA’s Mail in Registration Unit in the Glen Burnie office, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying. Licensed tag and title services will charge a fee for this service.

The registration application documents include:

  • Application form – When your vehicle has a Maryland title and you are registering and titling it at the same time, the title can be used as the application form for both transactions. If the vehicle’s title was issued by another state, use the Application for Certificate of Title to apply. If you have already titled the vehicle in Maryland and now want to register it, you will need to complete the Application for New Plates/Stickers & Transfer of Plates or Non-Title Trailers.
  • Maryland safety inspection certificate - This Maryland State Police form certifies that your used vehicle meets Maryland safety standards. It is valid for up to 90 days from the date issued unless you bought the vehicle from a Maryland dealer. Then the certificate is valid for a period of 6 months from the inspection date, or when the odometer reading advances 1,000 miles from the reading at the time of inspection, whichever comes first. The inspection certificate is not required:
    • when the vehicle is new, unless the odometer reading is more than 7,500 miles; or
    • when the vehicle is already titled and the certificate was presented and accepted by the MVA at the time of titling.
  • Coal Mining Vehicle Certification.
  • Proof of payment - Heavy Highway Vehicle Use Tax – Proof that you paid this federal tax is needed when the vehicle has a gross vehicle weight (GVW) of 55,000 pounds or more. Proof of tax payment is also needed annually at the time of registration renewal. This form is not required for a newly acquired vehicle that is registered within 60 days after the date of purchase.

[Return to Top]

How do I register a dump truck?

To be registered as a dump truck (class EDP), the vehicle must be:

  1. equipped with two or more axles;
  2. designed to haul feed or other loose materials in bulk; and,
  3. self-unloading by gravity or by mechanical means; and,
  4. equipped so that the load will be enclosed on both sides, front and rear.

The Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) applicable to a dump truck varies by its number of axles:

  • 2 axles–40,000 pound limit (you may select a higher gross combined weight (GCW)),
  • 3 axles–40,000-55,000 pound limit (you may select a higher gross combined weight (GCW)),
  • 4 axles-70,000 pound limit (you may select a higher gross combined weight (GCW)).

Note: A 3 axle dump truck that was registered in Maryland with a 65,000 pound GVWR prior to June 1, 1994, may continue to operate with the 65,000 pound GVWR until the truck becomes twenty (20) model years old. At that point the vehicle owner must either obtain a lift axle certification or drop the vehicle’s GVWR to 55,000 pounds.

You can apply to register your vehicle as a dump truck in person at any of the MVA’s full service branch offices. You also can mail the required documents to the MVA’s Mail in Registration Unit in the Glen Burnie office, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying. Licensed tag and title services will charge a fee for this service.

The registration application documents include:

  • Application form – When your vehicle has a Maryland title and you are registering and titling it at the same time, the title can be used as the application form for both transactions. If the vehicle’s title was issued by another state, use the Application for Certificate of Title to apply. If you have already titled the vehicle in Maryland and now want to register it, you will need to complete the Application for New Plates/Stickers & Transfer of Plates or Non-Title Trailers.
  • Maryland safety inspection certificate - This Maryland State Police form certifies that your used vehicle meets Maryland safety standards. It is valid for up to 90 days from the date issued unless you bought the vehicle from a Maryland dealer. Then the certificate is valid for a period of 6 months from the inspection date, or when the odometer reading advances 1,000 miles from the reading at the time of inspection, whichever comes first. The inspection certificate is not required:
    • when the vehicle is new, unless the odometer reading is more than 7,500 miles; or
    • when the vehicle is already titled and the certificate was presented and accepted by the MVA at the time of titling.
  • Certification for the Issuance of Dump Service License Plates.
  • Side-view photograph of the dump truck

Under certain circumstances, additional information and/or forms may be required:

  • Proof of payment - Heavy Highway Vehicle Use Tax – Proof that you paid this federal tax is needed when the vehicle has a gross vehicle weight (GVW) of 55,000 pounds or more. Proof of tax payment is also needed annually at the time of registration renewal. This form is not required for a newly acquired vehicle that is registered within 60 days after date of purchase.
  • Manufacture’s certification of a lift axle (copy is acceptable) and photograph of the lift axle – These items are needed when:
    • you will be operating the dump truck outside of Garrett and Allegany counties; and
    • the vehicle has 4 axles; and
    • you want the vehicle to have a 70,000 pound gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR).

Both items must be submitted when the vehicle is titled. Further, the copy of the lift axle certification must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

Note: A dump truck must have a gross vehicle weight (GVW) of 40,000 pounds or more.

[Return to Top]


How do I register my vehicle as a farm area or island vehicle?

Any type of vehicle may be registered as either a farm area or island vehicle (class K).

A farm area vehicle is a motor vehicle owned by a farmer and operated only on a farm or on a highway within a 25 mile radius of the farm. A farmer is an individual who:

  • Raises, grows and produces farm products on a farm of at least 3 acres or more; or
  • Keeps at least 25 hives of bees for the pollination of orchards and farm crops and commercial production of honey.
  • Please note several different types of vehicles may be registered as farm area vehicles.

An island vehicle is a motor vehicle, other than a golf cart, which is operated exclusively on an island that:

  • Is not accessible by a highway;
  • Does not have state maintained highways; and
  • contains less than 20 miles of highways.

The registration application documents include:

Note: New legislation passed in April 2014 requires the farmer to submit to the MVA current proof of active farming status. The following documents are acceptable proof:

  • IRS Form 1040 Schedule F "Profit or Loss From Farming."
  • IRS Form 1040 Schedule C-EZ "Net Profit From Business."
  • IRS Form 1040 Schedule C "Profit or Loss From Business."
  • IRS Form 4797 "Sales of Business Property."
  • IRS Form 1120 "US Corporation Income Tax Return”
  • IRS Form 1120S "US Income Tax Return for an S Corporation”
  • IRS Form 1065 "US Return of Partnership Income”
  • IRS Form 4835 "Farm Rental Income and Expenses"

A Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate is not required to register a vehicle as a farm area vehicle or island vehicle. However if you no longer operate an active farm, it will be necessary for you to return your farm area tags and purchase regular registration. A valid Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate may be required if the inspection was initially waived for the issuance of a farm area tag.

You can apply to register your vehicle in person at any of the MVA's full service branch offices. You can also go to a MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying. Licensed tag and title services will charge a fee for this service.

[Return to Top]

How do I register a truck, truck tractor, or trailer that will be used as a farm vehicle?

To register a vehicle as a farm truck (class EFT), a farm truck tractor (class FF), or a farm trailer (class GF), you must use the vehicle as a farm vehicle. A farm vehicle:

  • is used only in the farmer’s farming business and about the farmer’s farm home and in hauling farm products and the labor, supplies, equipment, and other materials necessary for the operation of the farm and farm home; and,
  • is not used to haul farm products previously acquired by the farmer for resale or to haul someone else’s farm products for a fee.
Note: A farm truck must have gross vehicle weight (GVW) of 10,000 pounds or more.

You can apply to register your vehicle in person at any of the MVA’s full service branch offices. You also can mail the required documents to the MVA’s Mail in Registration Unit in the Glen Burnie office, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying. Licensed tag and title services will charge a fee for this service.

The registration application documents include:

  • Application form – When your vehicle has a Maryland title and you are registering and titling it at the same time, the title can be used as the application form for both transactions. If the vehicle’s title was issued by another state, use the Application for Certificate of Title to apply. If you have already titled the vehicle in Maryland and now want to register it, you will need to complete the Application for New Plates/Stickers & Transfer of Plates or Non-Title Trailers.
  • Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate - This Maryland State Police form certifies that your used vehicle meets Maryland safety standards. It is valid for up to 90 days from the date issued unless you bought the vehicle from a Maryland dealer. Then the certificate is valid for a period of 6 months from the inspection date, or when the odometer reading advances 1,000 miles from the reading at the time of inspection, whichever comes first. The inspection certificate is not required:
    • when the vehicle is new, unless the odometer reading is more than 7,500 miles; or
    • when the vehicle is already titled and the certificate was presented and accepted by the MVA at the time of titling.
  • Application and Certification for Issuance of Farm Tags.

Under certain circumstances, additional information and/or forms may be required:

  • Proof of payment - Heavy Highway Vehicle Use Tax – Proof that you paid this federal tax is needed when the vehicle has a gross vehicle weight (GVW) of 55,000 pounds or more. Proof of tax payment is also needed annually at the time of registration renewal. This form is not required for a newly acquired vehicle that is registered within 60 days after the date of purchase.
  • Specialty License Plate Application – Certain classes of trucks are eligible to display specialty plates such as agricultural background plates.  If you choose to request these plates, see Registration – Specialty License Plates for details.

[Return to Top]


How do I register a vehicle as a historic vehicle?

To be registered as a historic vehicle (class L), your vehicle must be a passenger vehicle, motorcycle or truck (with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds or less): be 20 calendar years old or older and must not have been substantially altered, remodeled or remanufactured from the manufacturers original design.

A vehicle registered as historic cannot be used for general daily transportation, or primarily for the transportation of passengers or property on highways. It can only be used in exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, occasional transportation and similar uses. A trailer does not qualify for historic registration. They will not be used for employment, transportation to and from employment or school, or for commercial purposes.

A historic registration may also be issued to a truck with a GVWR in excess of 10,000 pounds, a tractor or a motor home as long as the vehicle is 25 calendar years old or older. The vehicle cannot be substantially altered, remodeled or remanufactured from its original design. Vehicles issued historic tags under these criteria cannot be used for occasional transportation, or for any commercial transportation of passengers or property on highways. A historic vehicle in this category must be insured by a Historic Vehicle, Show Vehicle, or Antique Vehicle insurance policy.

If your historic vehicle is 60 years old or older, you may obtain a permanent, non-transferable registration for a one-time fee. Note: A historic motor vehicle 60 years old or older do not qualify for a special registration plates since they require an annual registration fee.

You can apply to register your vehicle as a historic vehicle in person at any of the MVA’s full service branch offices. You also can mail the required documents to the MVA’s Mail in Registration Unit in the Glen Burnie office, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying. Licensed tag and title services will charge a fee for this service.

The registration application documents include:

Under certain circumstances, additional information and/or forms may be required:

  • Application for the Use of Vintage Registration Plates – If you possess vintage (old) license plates that are dated the same year as your vehicle’s model year, you may apply to display these vintage license plates on the vehicle, in place of the historic tags that are usually displayed. The vehicle must be 25 years old or older to display vintage license plates. The historic tags will still be issued, the renewal fees must be paid, and the plates must be carried in the vehicle at all times. There is a one-time fee for the use of vintage tags.
  • Specialty License Plate Application – Historic vehicles are also eligible to display personalized message (vanity) plates. If you choose to request these plates, see Registration – Specialty License Plates for details. Historic vehicles 60 years or older, with permanent registration, do not qualify for special registration plates.

Note: A Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate is not required to register this vehicle.


How do I register a vehicle as a low speed vehicle?

To be registered as a low speed vehicle (class D), your vehicle must:

  • be a four-wheeled, motor vehicle; and
  • have a maximum speed capability that exceeds 20 miles per hours but is less than 25 miles per hour.

A low speed vehicle cannot be used on a roadway for which the posted speed limit exceeds 30 miles per hour or on an expressway or another controlled access highway.

If you are titling and/or registering your vehicle, you can visit or mail all of your registration and titling documents to the MVA's Vehicle Service Division, Room 104 in the Glen Burnie office, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying. Licensed tag and title services will charge a fee for this service.

The registration application documents include:

Under certain circumstances, additional information and/or forms may be required:

[Return to Top]


How do I register a vehicle as a street rod?

To be registered as a street rod (class N), your vehicle must:

  1. be 25 model years old or older; and
  2. have been substantially altered from the manufacturer’s original design.

A vehicle registered as a street rod cannot be used for general daily transportation, or primarily for the transportation of passengers or property on highways. It can only be used in exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, occasional transportation and similar uses.

You can apply to register your vehicle as a street rod in person at any of the MVA’s full service branch offices. You also can mail the required documents to the MVA’s Mail in Registration Unit in the Glen Burnie office, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying. Licensed tag and title services will charge a fee for this service.

The registration application documents include:

Under certain circumstances, additional information and/or forms may be required:

  • Application for the Use of Vintage Registration Plates – If you possess vintage (old) license plates that are dated the same year as your vehicle’s model year, you may apply to display these vintage license plates on the vehicle, in place of the street rod tags that are usually displayed. However, the street rod tags will still be issued and must be carried in the vehicle at all times. There is a one-time fee for the use of vintage tags.
  • Specialty License Plate Application – Street rods are also eligible to display personalized message (vanity) plates. If you choose to request these plates, see Registration – Specialty License Plates for details.

Note: A Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate is not required to register this vehicle.

[Return to Top]


How do I register a tow truck or rollback truck?

You can apply to register your vehicle as a tow truck or rollback truck (class T or TE) in person at any of the MVA’s full service branch offices. You also can mail the required documents to the MVA’s Mail in Registration Unit in the Glen Burnie office, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying. Licensed tag and title services will charge a fee for this service. Please note: Tow Dollies can not be titled or registered in Maryland.

The registration application documents include:

  • Application form – When your vehicle has a Maryland title and you are registering and titling it at the same time, the title can be used as the application form for both transactions. If the vehicle’s title was issued by another state, use the Application for Certificate of Title to apply. If you have already titled the vehicle in Maryland and now want to register it, you will need to complete the Application for New Plates/Stickers & Transfer of Plates or Non-Title Trailers.
  • Maryland safety inspection certificate - This Maryland State Police form certifies that your used vehicle meets Maryland safety standards. It is valid for up to 90 days from the date issued unless you bought the vehicle from a Maryland dealer. Then the certificate is valid for a period of 6 months from the inspection date, or when the odometer reading advances 1,000 miles from the reading at the time of inspection, whichever comes first. The inspection certificate is not required:
    • when the vehicle is new, unless the odometer reading is more than 7,500 miles; or
    • when the vehicle is already titled and the certificate was presented and accepted by the MVA at the time of titling.
  • Tow Truck Certification
  • US Dept. of Transportation Motor Carrier # OR
    Interstate Commerce Commission Motor Carrier #

Under certain circumstances, additional information and/or forms may be required:

  • Application for Approval of Emergency Vehicles or Service Vehicles – This form is required only if you are requesting authorization to place a flashing light on the truck. For more information see Authorization of an Emergency or Service Vehicle.
  • Proof of payment - Heavy Highway Vehicle Use Tax – Proof that you paid this federal tax is needed when the vehicle has a gross vehicle weight (GVW) of 55,000 pounds or more. Proof of tax payment is also needed annually at the time of registration renewal. This form is not required for a newly acquired vehicle that is registered within 60 days after the date of purchase.

Notes:

1. If a rollback truck will also be used for purposes other then transporting vehicles, the vehicle will be assigned Class TE and must carry a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR).

2. A registered tow truck is subject to the weight restrictions posted on restricted bridges, and to all applicable statutory weight and size restrictions.

3. Truck owners must carry commercial liability insurance for the vehicle in the amounts $100,000 per person, $300,000 per occurrence of bodily injury liability, and $100,000 per occurrence of property damage liability.

[Return to Top]


How do I register a vehicle as a van pool vehicle?

To register a vehicle as a van pool vehicle (class J), it must have a seating capacity for no less than seven (7) and no more than fifteen (15) passengers, including the driver. Further, the van must be used to provide van pool services, defined as a non-profit commuter service that:

  1. is provided or organized by an employee organization or company, or by a group of companies for its employees, or by an individual or group of individuals; and,
  2. transports commuters exclusively between their place of residence and their place of employment or termini near such places.

You can apply to register your vehicle as a van pool vehicle in person at any of the MVA’s full service branch offices. You also can mail the required documents to the MVA’s Mail in Registration Unit in the Glen Burnie office, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying. Licensed tag and title services will charge a fee for this service.

The registration application documents include:

  • Application form – When your vehicle has a Maryland title and you are registering and titling it at the same time, the title can be used as the application form for both transactions. If the vehicle’s title was issued by another state, use the Application for Certificate of Title to apply. If you have already titled the vehicle in Maryland and now want to register it, you will need to complete the Application for New Plates/Stickers & Transfer of Plates or Non-Title Trailers.
  • Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate< - This Maryland State Police form certifies that your used vehicle meets Maryland safety standards. It is valid for up to 90 days from the date issued unless you bought the vehicle from a Maryland dealer. Then the certificate is valid for a period of 6 months from the inspection date, or when the odometer reading advances 1,000 miles from the reading at the time of inspection, whichever comes first. The inspection certificate is not required:
    • when the vehicle is new, unless the odometer reading is more than 7,500 miles; or
    • when the vehicle is already titled and the certificate was presented and accepted by the MVA at the time of titling.
  • Certification for Issuance of Van Pool Registration

Notes:

  1. A van pool registration must be renewed annually and requires a new Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate.
  2. ​Vanpool vehicle owners must certify that they are carrying 5 times the standard Maryland insurance requirements.

Note: On July 1, 2015 all businesses wishing to title a vehicle will be required to show proof of the legal existence of the business. The business will be given a number with a "Z" to identify it.

[Return to Top]​