Maryland dealers will usually handle the titling and registration of your vehicle for you. The dealer will provide you with a bill of sale and temporary (paper) or permanent (metal) license plates before you drive the vehicle off the lot. The Maryland Certificate of Title will be printed and mailed to you later. If a lien is placed against your title, a Maryland Security Interest Filing (SIF) will be mailed to the lien holder at the same time.
If the dealer does not handle the titling and registration of your vehicle, perhaps because you purchased the vehicle from an out-of-state dealer, you will have to submit the application documents yourself. You can apply in person at any of the MVA’s full service branch offices. You also can mail the documents to the MVA’s Mail In Title Unit in the Glen Burnie office, or go to an MVA licensed tag and title service where they will assist you in applying.
- The Real ID Act requires that all Personal Identifying Information (PII) must be placed on the actual Driver License, Identification Card or Permit. Therefore, any name changes must be done through the Driver Licensing System (DLS) prior to document changes.
- If the customer does not have the documents needed to complete the change of name through DLS, the title transaction may be completed using their current name as on our records. When the name is changed on the product issued, a corrected title due to a name change can be requested. Maryland Vehicle Law requires the customer to apply for a corrected title within 30 days of a name change by completing the Application for Corrected Title Due to a Name Change, Form (VR-448).
Typically, the title application documents needed (along with payment for taxes and fees) include:
- Proof of ownership – This is the vehicle’s current title that has been properly assigned to you, the owner. Note that if the title was issued in Maryland, it can be used as your application form for titling and registering the vehicle.
- Dealer Reassignments if applicable
- Application form – If the vehicle’s current title was issued in Maryland, use it as your application form by completing the section entitled Application for Title and Registration. If not, use the Application for Certificate of Title (form VR-005). Be sure to include your insurance information. Your policy must conform to Maryland’s minimum liability insurance requirements.
- Bill of sale - The bill of sale needs to be the original or a carbon copy. Only Maryland dealers may only use the tax certification on the Application for Certificate of Title (form VR-005); the tax certification on the dealer reassignment on the reverse of the title; or the tax certification on the separate dealer reassignment.
- Odometer disclosure statement
- Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate – This is a Maryland State Police form certifying that your vehicle meets Maryland safety standards. If the dealer performed the inspection, the certificate is valid for a period of 6 months from the inspection date, or when the odometer reading advances 1,000 miles from the reading at the time of the inspection, whichever comes first. If you had the inspection performed at another authorized inspection station, it is valid for only 90 days from the date issued.
- Lien Release if applicable
Under certain circumstances, additional information and/or forms may be required:
- Lien information – If you borrowed money to buy the vehicle, you may need to record your lien information on the application. The MVA Security Interest Filing Form must be used if a second lien is placed against the title.
- Power of attorney (VR-470) – If someone other than you, the new owner, is signing the titling forms, this document is required. A copy of the registered owner(s) state issued identification must accompany the Power of Attorney and the person submitting must present their state issued identification.
Note that if you also intend to register the vehicle (most cases) additional forms are usually needed. Registration requirements vary greatly by the type and intended use of the vehicle. The requirements for most vehicles can be found in Registration – Common Vehicles.
Your title will be mailed to you regardless of whether you apply through the dealer, or directly to the MVA. The Maryland dealer often will be able to provide your registration card, license plates and expiration date stickers when you purchase the vehicle.
Note: On July 1, 2015 all businesses wishing to title a vehicle will be required to show proof of the legal existence of the business. The business will be given a number with a "Z" to identify it.
MVA Mail In Title Unit
6601 Ritchie Highway, NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
For telephone questions:
MVA Customer Service Center: 1-410-768-7000
TTY/Hearing Impaired: 1-301-729-4563
[ infoMVA Home | Titling A Vehicle ]