Driving Record Expungement
Effective October 1, 2017, in accordance with new Maryland law, the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA) will automatically expunge driving records when/if they become eligible. Drivers no longer need to apply for expungement. Expungement refers to the removal of specific entries from a driving record, including moving violations and associated points.
Who/What is eligible for expungement?
For individuals who have never been suspended for reasons related to driver safety+, have never been revoked, and have no moving violations on their records:
All eligible record entries will be expunged automatically within 31 days after the last conviction date. *
For individuals who have never been suspended for reasons related to driver safety+ and have never been revoked, but who have moving violations on their records:
All eligible record entries will be expunged automatically 3 years after the last moving violation conviction date. *
For individuals who have been suspended only once for reasons related to driver safety+ and have never been revoked:
All eligible record entries will be expunged automatically 5 years after the last moving violation conviction date. *
For individuals who have been suspended multiple times for reasons related to driver safety+ or who have previously been revoked:
All eligible record entries will be expunged automatically 10 years after the last moving violation conviction date, or grant of probation before judgment for a violation of § 20-102 or § 21-902. *
For individuals holding a commercial driver’s license (CDL):
All eligible record entries will be expunged in accordance with the above guidelines, as well as § 16-819 of the Transportation Article and Federal Motor Carrier expungement guidelines.
+ As set forth in COMAR 11.11.16, the following suspensions are not related to driver safety:
- Suspension of a minor’s license upon the death of the co-signer
- Failure to pay Child Support
- Outstanding arrest warrant
- Non-payment of a judgment
- Dispensing motor fuel into a dirt bike in Baltimore City
- Failure to appear on, failure to comply with, or failure to pay a citation
- Possession of alcohol by a minor
- Failure to pay for motor fuel
- Improper use of a driver’s license or ID card by a minor to obtain alcohol
- Rejection by Maryland Auto Insurance (formerly MAIF) / inability to obtain vehicle insurance
All other suspensions are related to driver safety
* If an individual is suspended at the time his or her record becomes eligible for expungement, the expungement of eligible entries will be delayed up to 31 days following the withdrawal of the suspension.
Who/What is not eligible for expungement?
An individual with any active or pending suspension, revocation, cancellation, or refusal; pending MVA administrative action; or restriction for the Ignition Interlock Program is not eligible for expungement.
Certain record entries are not eligible for expungement, even if other portions of the same record meet eligibility requirements, including:
- Any record entries related to a fatal accident;
- Any alcohol-related offenses;
- Any violation that is identical, or substantially similar, to those listed above; and
- Any record entries required for assessment of subsequent offender penalties.
- There is no fee for expungement of a driving record.
- There is a fee for each non-certified driving record requested.
- There is a fee for each certified driving record requested.
If your record has not been automatically expunged in accordance with § 16-117.1 of the Transportation Article and COMAR 11.11.16 guidelines, please contact MDOT MVA at:
Administrative Adjudication Division
6601 Ritchie Highway NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
Email Inquiries: MVAAADDRATSDOCS@MDOT.STATE.MD.US
MVA Customer Service Call Center: 1-410-768-7000
TTY/Hearing Impaired: 1-301-729-4563