Point Accumulation

​After you are convicted of a vehicle-related law violation in Maryland, the Maryland District Court notifies the MVA of the conviction. The MVA then applies the appropriate points to your driver record.

*Correction: A driver convicted of speeding in excess of a posted speed limit of 65 miles an hour by 20 miles an hour or more will be assessed 5 points, not 2 points.

Other actions taken by the MVA in response to this notification depend upon the total number of points that you have accumulated during the two-year period prior to the violation:

  • 3 to 4 points - The MVA will send you a warning letter.
  • 5 to 7 points - The MVA will require you to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program (DIP).
  • 8 to 11 points - The MVA will send you a notice of suspension.
  • 12 or more points - The MVA will send you a notice of revocation.


What options do I have if I receive a notice of suspension from the MVA?

You may receive either a Notice of Point Suspension or a Notice of Suspension.

The Notice of Point Suspension means that you have accumulated 8, 9, 10 or 11 points. However, none of your points is for a conviction of an alcohol or drug-related violation. When you receive this notice, you have two options:

  1. Accept the suspension - In this case, you must return your last issued driver's license to the MVA no later than the suspension date shown on your notice. If you are late in returning your license, your suspension period will be extended by the number of days that you delay. You may return the license by mail or in person to any MVA office or to the Administrative Adjudication Division (AAD) in the Glen Burnie MVA office. You should ask for a receipt if you return the license in person.  If you are no longer in possession of the driver's license, you must submit a written explanation or visit any MVA full-service branch office and complete a Certified Statement form indicating why you no longer have the license.

  2. OR

  3. ​Request a hearing - If you would like to request a hearing to show cause why the suspension should not be imposed, you must complete and return the notice and the filing fee, within 15 days from the notice date. Details about how to request the hearing are included on the notice. Once your hearing request and fee have been received, your suspension will be held in abeyance until the hearing is completed. The Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH), which conducts the hearing, will notify you of its location, date, and time.
The Notice of Suspension means that you have accumulated 8, 9, 10 or 11 points and that at least one of your convictions is for an alcohol or drug-related violation. When you receive this notice, you may have three options:

  1. Accept the suspension - In this case, you must return your last issued driver's license to the MVA before the suspension date shown on your notice. If you are late in returning your license, your suspension period will be extended by the number of days that you delay. You may return the license by mail or in person to any MVA or to the Administrative Adjudication Division (AAD) in the Glen Burnie MVA office. You should ask for a receipt if you return your license in person.If you are no longer in possession of the driver's license, you must submit a written explanation or visit any MVA full-service branch office and complete a Certified Statement form indicating why you no longer have the license.
    1. OR

  2. Request a hearing - If you would like to request a hearing to show cause why the suspension should not be imposed, you must complete and return the notice, along with the filing fee, within 15 days from the notice date. Details about how to request the hearing are included on the notice. Once your hearing request and fee have been received, your suspension will be held in abeyance until the hearing is completed. The Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH), which conducts the hearing, will notify you of its location, date, and time.
    1. OR

  3. ​Apply to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program - If you participate in the Ignition Interlock Program, your license will not be suspended. However, your driving privileges will be restricted. The Ignition Interlock Program-Participant Requirements form enclosed with your notice provides application instructions.

What options do I have if I receive a notice of revocation from the MVA?

The Notice of Revocation means that you have accumulated 12 or more points.

If you have not been convicted of any alcohol or drug-related violations, you have two options:

  1. ​Accept the revocation - In this case, you must return your last issued driver's license to the MVA before the revocation date shown on your notice. If you are late in returning your license, your revocation period will be extended by the number of days that you delay. You may return the license by mail or in person to any MVA office or to the Administrative Adjudication Division (AAD) in the Glen Burnie MVA office. You should ask for a receipt if you return your license in person. If you are no longer in possession of the driver's license, you must submit a written explanation or visit any MVA full-service branch office and complete a Certified Statement form indicating why you no longer have the license.
    1. OR

  2. ​​​​​​​Request a hearing - If you would like to request a hearing to show cause why the revocation should not be imposed, you must complete and return the notice, along with the filing fee, within 15 days from the notice date. Details about how to request the hearing are included on the notice. Once your hearing request and fee have been received, your revocation will be held in abeyance until the hearing is completed. The Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH), which conducts the hearing, will notify you of its location, date, and.
​If you have been convicted of one or more alcohol or drug-related violations, you may have three options:

  1. ​Accept the revocation - In this case, you must return your last issued driver's license to the MVA before the revocation date shown on your notice. If you are late in returning your license, your revocation period will be extended by the number of days that you delay. You may return the license by mail or in person to any MVA office or to the Administrative Adjudication Division (AAD) in the Glen Burnie MVA office. You should ask for a receipt if you return your license in person. If you are no longer in possession of the driver's license, you must submit a written explanation or visit any MVA full-service branch office and complete a Certified Statement form indicating why you no longer have the license.
    1. OR

  2. ​Request a hearing - If you would like to request a hearing to show cause why the revocation should not be imposed, you must complete and return the notice, along with the filing fee, within 15 days from the notice date. Details about how to request the hearing are included on the notice. Once your hearing request and fee have been received, your revocation will be held in abeyance until the hearing is completed. The Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH), which conducts the hearing, will notify you of its location, date, and time.
    1. OR

  3. ​​Apply to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program - If you participate in the Ignition Interlock Program, your license will not be revoked. However, your driving privileges will be restricted. The Ignition Interlock Program-Participant Requirements form enclosed with your notice provides application instructions.
For information about applying for the reinstatement of your driver's license, see the form enclosed with your notice, Requirements for Applying for Reinstatement. Also see Reinstatement of a Revoked Driver's License.

When will I be able to remove the restriction from my driver's license that requires use of an ignition interlock system?



​​Fees:

  • There is a fee for filing a hearing request with the Maryland Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH). Your check or money order should be made payable to "Maryland State Treasurer" and include your name, address, driver's license number, and home or work phone number
  • ​​​​You may be charged a restoration fee to cover administrative costs to lift the suspension.


Contact Information:

​​MVA 
​​Administrative Adjudication Division
​​6601 Ritchie Highway
Glen Burnie, MD 21062

​​​For telephone questions:
​​MVA Customer Service Center:   1-410-768-7000
​​​TTY/Hearing Impaired:                    1-301-729-4563


        ​​[Go to infoMVA Home]​