Low Speed Vehicle Questions

What is a low speed vehicle?

Motor Vehicle includes a low speed vehicle, which is a four-wheeled electric vehicle that:

  • has a maximum speed capability that exceeds 20 miles per hour but is less than 25 miles per hour;
  • has at least four wheels in contact with the ground;
  • has a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of less than 2,500 pounds; and
  • complies with the standards for safety of such a vehicle set forth in Federal Motor Safety Standard 49C.F.R.571.500.

Back to top

Are low speed vehicles required to be titled and registered?

Maryland law now requires all low speed vehicles to be titled and registered.

Back to top

Do I need a driver license to operate a low speed vehicle on Maryland roadways?

Yes, you must possess a valid driver license to operate a low speed vehicle on Maryland roads.

Back to top

Are operations of low speed vehicles on roadways restricted to certain posted speeds?

Yes, a person may not drive a low speed vehicle on a roadway for which the posted maximum speed limit exceeds 30 miles per hour; or on an expressway or another controlled access highway that is signed so as to prohibit the use of these type of vehicles on its roadways.

Back to top

May I use my low speed vehicle to take my driver test?

No, individuals may not use a low speed vehicle to obtain a driver's license.

​​​​​Back to top