A Maryland State Police Trooper or any other Maryland law enforcement officer may issue a Safety Equipment Repair Order (SERO) to the
of a vehicle that is observed to have defective or non-functioning equipment in accordance with
lists the types of defective equipment for which a SERO can be issued.
A SERO can be issued for defective safety equipment on all classes of Maryland registered motor vehicles, trailers, and semi-trailers except those vehicles displaying the following types of license plates:
- Historic license plates (1985 and older);
- Street Rod license plates(Class “N”);
- Interchangeable license plates (dealer, transporter, finance company, special mobile equipment); and
- Temporary registration plates.
How do I resolve a Safety Equipment Repair Order (SERO)?
The SERO requires the vehicle
owner to have the problems cited on the SERO repaired within 10 days, and a certification of the repair to be submitted to the Maryland State Police (MSP) Automotive Safety Enforcement Division (ASED) within 30 days.
The repairs may be made at any repair shop of your choice, or you may do it yourself. After the vehicle is repaired, you will need to take the vehicle and the SERO to a Maryland licensed inspection station in order to have the repair inspected and certified. The licensed inspector will certify that all defects have been fixed correctly. If the inspection for certification of the SERO requires jacking, lifting, measuring, or testing the vehicle, the inspection station may charge a prorated fee based on their hourly labor rate. If all listed repairs are not properly repaired the licensed inspection mechanic will not certify the SERO.
If all of the defects identified on the SERO are followed by an asterisk (*), indicating that the repair can be visually inspected, you may ask a Maryland State Police Trooper or local police officer in a participating police department to certify the repair, instead of a licensed inspection mechanic. The inspector must inspect your vehicle during daylight hours, while the weather is not inclement. However, be sure that
all of the defects identified on your SERO have an asterisk.
If the defect identified on the SERO is aftermarket window tint, Effective February 1, 2012, all vehicles must be taken to an authorized inspection station for certification, even if all the tint has been removed. Vehicle owners with a medical exemption must contact a
trooper assigned to ASED.
When the repair has been inspected, and the SERO has been certified, you must submit Copy 5 (buff card stock) of the handwritten SERO, or the right half of an electronically generated SERO to the Maryland State Police ASED. The copy must be submitted no later than 30 days after the date on which the SERO was issued. Either mail or hand-deliver Copy 5, or the right half of an electronically generated SERO to:
Maryland State Police
Automotive Safety Enforcement Division (ASED)
6601 Ritchie Highway, NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
You should retain Copy 4 (goldenrod), or the left side of the electronically generated SERO, in your vehicle, for your records.
What happens if I don’t return the signed copy of my SERO within 30 days?
If the Maryland State Police ASED does not receive the certified SERO within 30 days after the date the SERO was issued, you will receive a notice that your vehicle registration will be suspended.
The suspension will take place five (5) days after the notice of suspension is mailed. When your vehicle registration is suspended you
- Legally drive the vehicle; or
- Renew the vehicle's license plates.
If your vehicle's registration is suspended, you must immediately return the license plates to an MVA
office. If you do not return the license plates within 10 days after the date on which the suspension notice was mailed, a tag pick up order will be issued. The license plates then will be subject to immediate confiscation by a police officer.
What should I do if I got rid of my vehicle after the SERO was issued?
If your vehicle has been traded, sold, repossessed, junked or otherwise disposed of, you must submit a document that indicates the vehicle’s disposition and includes the vehicle identification number (VIN), make, model, title number, and the date of the disposition. The document should be attached to Copy 5, or right half of electronically generated SERO when it is submitted to the ASED. The type of documentation required depends upon the vehicle’s disposition:
Traded – submit a copy of the contract with the dealer who accepted the vehicle as trade-in.
Sold – submit a notarized statement signed by you.
Repossessed – submit a statement on the letterhead of the company that repossessed the vehicle (usually a financial institution).
Junked – submit a statement on the letterhead of the automotive dismantler or recycler who received the vehicle.
Otherwise disposed of – submit a notarized statement signed by you.
What should I do if I lost my SERO and need a duplicate?
How can I tell if my window tint is legal?
**Windshields may NOT be tinted on any vehicle below the AS1 line**
- Red, yellow, amber, and reflective window tint is prohibited on all vehicles.
On passenger cars, convertibles, and station wagons:
- All windows with aftermarket (add on) tint must have at least 35% light transmittance. (Allow 35% of light to pass through glass)
On multipurpose vehicles, vans, and class “E” trucks that have a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) equal to or less than 10,000 pounds:
- Windows on the driver and right front passenger doors with aftermarket (added) tint must have at least 35% light transmittance.
- All other windows can be tinted to any degree of darkness or color. However, reflective tint is prohibited.
Note: as of February 1, 2012, Limousines are not permitted to have tint on the windows right and left of the driver.
Are colored headlights legal?
No, colored headlights are not legal. Headlights must emit light that is white in color. Any required lamp, lens, or reflector that is obscured by any object or shielded by a nontransparent material, or any headlamp equipped with aftermarket clear, tinted or screen type color is prohibited. For more information see
- The vehicle owner must pay for the repairs needed to correct the vehicle defect(s).
- There may be a fee charged by the licensed inspection station based on a flat, hourly rate, which is set by the inspection station. Even if the repaired defect can be visually confirmed, the mechanic may still charge a fee if the inspection requires jacking, lifting, measuring, or testing the vehicle.