Dealer - Salesman's License

A Maryland licensed dealer must employ the applicant for a salesman's license (or for any other salesman's license-related transaction) at the time of request. Further, the dealer (not the salesman) must submit the application; the salesman cannot request a license on his own. Also, the dealer must have worker's compensation insurance.

Licensed salesmen work at the following types of dealers:

  • New vehicle dealer
  • Used vehicle dealer
  • Wholesale vehicle dealer
  • Motorcycle dealer
  • Emergency vehicle dealer
  • Trailer dealer

The Business Licensing and Consumer Services Division (BL&CS), which handles the licensing of both dealers and salesmen, has developed procedures to handle each of the transactions listed below. These transactions are separately discussed in answer to commonly asked questions. Either scroll down to the appropriate question and answer, or click on the procedure in which you are interested.

Note: If a salesman does not have a current, valid salesman's license, he or she may not sell vehicles. Sales made by someone who is not properly licensed could result in the dealer being fined (up to $1,000 per sale), suspension of the dealer's license, or revocation of the dealer's license.

Fees:

  • Fee information is available on a separate schedule of fees.


Contact Information:

MVA
Business Licensing and Consumer Services

6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E.
Glen Burnie, MD 21062

For telephone questions:

MVA Customer Service Center:     1-410-768-7000
TTY/Hearing Impaired:                    1-301-729-4563



How do I obtain a salesman's license from the MVA authorizing me to sell vehicles for a Maryland licensed vehicle dealer?

The dealer that employs you may download the Salesman’s License Packet available on the MVA's website or contact the Business Licensing and Consumer Services Division (BL&CS) in the Glen Burnie MVA office about obtaining a salesman's license for you. The BL&CS will return to the dealer the required application forms and instructions. Typically, the dealer must submit the following documents:

  • Application for Vehicle Salesman's License - Check "New" at the top of the form.  Also, ensure that a dealership owner, partner or corporate officer signs and submits the application form on behalf of the applicant.  Applications without the salesman's social security number will be returned.
  • MVA Criminal Record Request Form - this form authorizes the BL&CS to conduct a background check of the applicant's criminal history (if any) in Maryland.
  • Other forms - Additional forms may be needed depending upon your situation:
    • Out-of-state criminal record check results - If you live outside of Maryland, or have lived in Maryland for less than 1 year, the results of a statewide criminal background check must be submitted from that state.  A background check from a private company will be accepted if the Maryland State Police (MSP) licenses the company as a Private Investigation Agency.  This background check must cover the entire state, not just a county.

Once your salesman's license has been approved, the BL&CS sends to the dealer an authorization form (New License Application-Authorization for Photo Vehicle Sales License).  The dealer should give the authorization to you.  You then take it and the appropriate fee to any MVA branch office to obtain your photo salesman's license.

[Return to Top]

How does a dealership change a salesman's authorization enabling that salesman to sell a different type of vehicle for the same dealership, or to sell vehicles at another location owned by the same dealer?

These types of changes require approval by the MVA and are referred to as "supplemental" requests.  Supplemental requests must be submitted when the salesman will be selling vehicles for the same employer but at a different location.

The dealer that employs the salesman must submit the supplemental request.  Typically, the dealer must submit the following document:

  • Certification - If the salesman will be working at a different dealership location, the second business must have in common at least sixty (60) percent of its owners/officers with the original dealership where the salesman is licensed.  This does not apply to gratis locations of the same dealership.

Once the change in authorization (supplemental request) has been approved, the BL&CS sends a copy of the Certification to the dealer for their records.  No other actions are necessary.

​[Return to Top]

How do I renew my salesman's license?

The dealer that you work for is responsible for renewing your salesman's license. Approximately 30-60 days before the license expires, the Business Licensing and Consumer Services Division (BL&CS) will mail to the dealer an authorization form to renew the salesman's license (Renewal License Application-Authorization for Photo Vehicle Sales License). If you do not receive the renewal application, please contact the BL&CS. The dealer must sign the authorization form before giving it to you. You then take it and the appropriate fee to any MVA branch office to obtain your photo salesman's license.

[Return to Top]

How do I transfer my salesman's license?

The Maryland dealer that hires you must submit the transfer request.  If less than six (6) months remains, a new salesman's license may be requested.  Typically, the dealer must submit the following documents:

  • Application for Vehicle Salesman's License - Check "Transfer" at the top of the form.  Also, ensure that the dealership owner, partner or corporate officer signs and submits the application form on behalf of the applicant.
  • Other forms - Additional forms may be needed depending upon your situation:
    • MVA Criminal Record Request Form - This form is required only if the original Maryland criminal check is more than five (5) years old.
    • Out-of-state criminal record check results - A new check is required only if the original out-of-state results are more than five (5) years old and the salesman lives outside of Maryland.

Once the transfer of the salesman's license has been approved, the Business Licensing and Consumer Services Division (BL&CS) sends to the dealer, an authorization form (Transfer License Application-Authorization for Photo Vehicle Sales License).  The dealer must sign the authorization form before giving it to you.  You then take it and the appropriate fee to any MVA branch office to obtain your photo salesman's license.

[Return to Top]

How do I correct information that appears on my salesman's license?

The dealer that employs you must submit the request to correct information on your salesman's license.  Typically, the dealer must submit the following documents:

  • Application for Vehicle Salesman's License - Check "Corrected" at the top of the form.  Also, ensure that the dealership owner, partner or corporate officer signs and submits the application form on behalf of the applicant.
  • Other forms - Additional forms may be needed depending upon your situation:
    • MVA Criminal Record Request Form - This form is required only if the original Maryland criminal check is more than five (5) years old.
    • Out-of-State criminal record check results - A new check is required only if the original out-of-state results are more than five (5) years old and the salesman lives outside of Maryland.

Once the correction of the information on the salesman's license has been made, the BL&CS sends to the dealer an authorization form (Corrected License Application-Authorization for Photo Vehicle Sales License).  The dealer must sign the authorization form before giving it to you.  You then take it and the appropriate fee to any MVA branch office to obtain your photo salesman's license.

[Return to Top]

How do I obtain a duplicate salesman's license?

The dealer that employs you must submit the request for a duplicate salesman's license.  Typically, the dealer must submit the following documents:

  • Appli​cation for Vehicle Salesman's License - Check "Duplicate" at the top of the form.  Also, ensure that the dealership owner, partner or corporate officer signs and submits the application form on behalf of the applicant.
  • Other forms - Additional forms may be needed depending upon your situation:
    • MVA Criminal Record Request Form - This form is required only if the original Maryland criminal check is more than five (5) years old.
    • Out of state criminal record check results - A new check is required only if the original out-of-state results are more than five (5) years old and the salesman lives outside of Maryland.

Once the duplicate salesman's license has been authorized, the Business Licensing and Consumer Services Division sends to the dealer an authorization form (Duplicate License Application-Authorization for Photo Vehicle Sales License).  The dealer must sign the authorization form before giving it to you.  You then take it and the appropriate fee to any MVA branch office to obtain your photo salesman's license.

[Return to Top]

What should I do when I am no longer employed by a dealer?

When you leave a dealership, the dealer must notify the Business Licensing and Consumer Services Division (BL&CS)  immediately.  The dealer shall include your salesman's license along with notice on their letterhead indicating that you are no longer employed with their dealership.  The BL&CS will cancel your salesman's license.

[Return to Top]​


​​​​​​​​​