Please note: this press release may not reflect MDOT MVA Current Operations.  
Click here to see the most up to date informatio​n on our operations.
Contact: Motor Vehicle Administration
Office of Media Relations
Anna Levendusky, 410-787-4077

Find The Right Car Seat During Child Passenger Safety Week, September 18-24

New Child Passenger Safety Law Goes into Effect October 1

GLEN BURNIE, MD (September 15, 2022) – Ensuring a child’s safety in a vehicle is one of the most important things a parent or caregiver can do. However, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), motor vehicle crashes continue to be one of the leading causes of death for children.

To help combat these preventable tragedies, the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA) is joining with other state agencies, the Maryland Department of Health’s Kids In Safety Seats (Maryland KISS), the Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems and the Safe Kids organization to provide child safety seat checks across the state during Child Passenger Safety Week, September 19-24.

“Height, weight and age are the three key components to determine if your child is ready to move to the next step in car seats,” said MDOT MVA Administrator Chrissy Nizer, who also serves as Governor Larry Hogan’s Highway Safety Representative. “To ensure our youngest and most vulnerable passengers are safe, we encourage everyone to take time to check that children are in the correct car seat — and are always properly buckled.”

In Maryland, every driver and passenger must wear a seat belt. Children younger than age 8 must be in an appropriate child safety seat or booster unless they are 4 feet, 9 inches tall or taller. If passengers older than 16 are not wearing a seat belt, the driver can receive an $83 ticket for each offense.

MDOT MVA is supporting the following in-person and virtual events during Child Passenger Safety Week to help ensure child safety seats are properly installed (see links to make an appointment, where required):

Monday, September 19

MDOT MVA Bel Air Branch – Appointments501 W MacPhail Road, Bel Air, MD 2101410 a.m. - 2 p.m.

Tuesday, September 20

MDOT MVA Westminster Branch – Appointments1106 Baltimore Blvd., Westminster, MD 21157Noon - 2 p.m.

Long Green Volunteer Fire Co. – Appointments4506 Long Green Road, Glen Arm, MD 210573 p.m. - 6 p.m.

Wednesday, September 21

MDOT MVA Salisbury Branch – Appointments251 Tilghman Road, Salisbury, MD 2180410 a.m. - 2 p.m.

Thursday, September 22

Fitzgerald Cadillac Annapolis – No Appointment Needed, Drive Ups Accepted34 Hudson St., Annapolis, MD 214012 p.m. - 5 p.m.

MDOT MVA Glen Burnie Branch – Information Only, No Official Seat Check6601 Ritchie Highway NE, Glen Burnie, MD 2106210 a.m. - 2 p.m.

Friday, September 23

MDOT MVA Frederick Branch - Appointments1601 Bowmans Farm Road, Frederick, MD 2170110 a.m. - 2 p.m.

Saturday, September 24

Bayside Toyota - Appointments120 Auto Dr., Prince Frederick, MD9 a.m. - Noon

National Seat Check Saturday - AppointmentsVirtual: One-on-One with Certified Technician

In addition to these events, agencies across the state offer in-person and virtual checks throughout the year to teach parents and caregivers how to correctly use car seats. Visit for information.

Officials encourage everyone who transports children – parents, grandparents, guardians and other family members – to ensure they use the right car seat for the age and weight of the child and that it is installed correctly.​​

Officials also highlighted a new Maryland law that requires children to remain in a rear-facing child safety seat until at least age 2 unless the child reaches the manufacturer’s height and weight limit for the car seat. The measure, Senate Bill 176, signed into law by Governor Hogan and goes into effect October 1. The first offense for violating the new law is a warning. Existing Maryland law also notes that if passengers younger than 16 are not wearing a seat belt, the driver may receive an $83 ticket.

Instructional Videos

MDOT MVA has developed a series of instructional videos demonstrating the proper installation of rear-facing and forward-facing car seats and booster seats, as well as guidelines for transitioning from a booster seat to “seat belt only.” Watch the videos, and share them with friends and family members:

  • Rear-facing – Demonstration of proper installation of a rear-facing car seat and how to determine when a child is ready for the next level car seat.
  • Forward-facing – Demonstration of proper installation of forward-facing/all-in-one safety seats and how to determine when a child is ready for the next level car seat.
  • Booster seats – Demonstration of proper use of booster seats and review of the difference between backless boosters and those with backs.
  • Seat belts – Guidelines and tips for transitioning from a booster seat to “seat belt only,” and the importance of buckling up for all vehicle occupants.

Learn more about the MDOT MVA’s Highway Safety Office’s commitment to zero deaths on Maryland roadways at and on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram at zerodeathsmd.