In 2019, 534 lives were lost on Maryland highways in vehicle crashes. Statistics show that every year, one in three vehicle occupants who died in crashes was not wearing a seat belt. With these facts in mind, the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration’s (MDOT MVA) Highway Safety Office (MHSO) is announcing the start of the 2020 Click It or Ticket campaign. To help launch the campaign, the Maryland State Police, Harford County Sheriff’s Office, Baltimore County Police Department will conduct seat belt checks in a channelization effort with the help of MDOT State Highway Administration’s Churchville and Golden Ring shops.
US 1 (Belair Road) between New Cut Road and Reckord Road
Baltimore/Harford County Line
Monday, November 16, 2020 between 1 p.m. and 3 p.m.
Dr. Tim Kerns, Director, MDOT MVA’s Highway Safety Office
Officer Lori Hippensteel, Baltimore County Police Department
Sergeant Michael Lane, Harford County Sheriff’s Office
Video / Photo Opportunity – Representatives from the Harford County Sheriff’s Office, Baltimore County Police Department and MHSO will be available for one-on-one media interviews, and there will be opportunities to gather b-roll video.
NOTE: In response to COVID-19, members of the media will be required to wear a face covering and practice social distancing while recording video and conducting interviews. In order to minimize foot traffic on site, media should RSVP to Whitney Nichels at 410-582-6406 or firstname.lastname@example.org to pre-schedule an interview during the designated timeframe. If you are feeling unwell, please reach out to reschedule an interview for another day.
Nearly 40 law enforcement agencies across the state are enforcing Click It or Ticket with a multi-state Border-to-Border (B2B) effort – a national one-day effort that includes an enforcement period to address seat belt use. Local and national ads will air on billboards, television, radio and online through early November to generate awareness.
- In 2019, 90.3% of Maryland drivers and front-seat passengers wore seat belts when traveling state roadways.
- In vehicles where the driver is buckled, 93% of passengers buckle up as well. In vehicles with unbuckled drivers, only 40% of passengers buckle up.
- In Maryland, every driver and passenger must wear a seat belt. Children under the age of 8 must be in an appropriate booster or child safety seat unless they are 4 feet 9 inches or taller. If any passengers older than 16 years old are not wearing a seat belt, the driver can receive an $83 ticket for each offense.
Learn more about the MDOT MVA’s Highway Safety Office at ZeroDeathsMD.gov or on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram at @ZeroDeathsMD.