Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) agencies including the MDOT Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA), MDOT State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) and Maryland Transportation Authority Police (MDTAP) will join AAA Mid-Atlantic for a statewide push to remind motorists of Maryland’s Move Over law, which requires drivers to move over one lane whenever possible to give emergency vehicles, first responders and MDOT crews more space, and to slow down if it is not possible to safely move over. The push comes ahead of National Move Over Day on October 16, which aims to raise awareness of the law and to decrease roadside injuries and fatalities. Maryland’s Move Over law that went into effect in 2010 provided protection for emergency responders, law enforcement personnel and MDOT SHA Coordinated Highway Action Response Team (CHART) vehicle operators providing roadside assistance to motorists. In 2014, the law was extended to include tow trucks and, three years ago, was expanded again to include transportation, service and utility vehicles, and waste and recycling trucks. In addition to officials listed below, CHART and MDTA Courtesy Patrol vehicles and operators will be on hand.
11 a.m. Thursday, October 14, 2021
I-95 Rest Stop between MD 216 & MD 32 (northbound side between exits 35 and 38)
Laurel, MD 20763
Greg Slater, Maryland Transportation Secretary
Chrissy Nizer, Administrator, MDOT MVA and Gov. Larry Hogan’s Highway Safety Representative
Ragina Ali, Public & Government Affairs Manager, AAA Mid-Atlantic
Colonel Kevin M. Anderson, Chief, MDTAP
Tim Smith, Administrator, MDOT SHA
From 2014 to 2019, more than 4,000 people were injured and 53 people were killed in work zone crashes in Maryland. Since 2016, there have been 68 crashes where MDOT SHA’s Coordinated Highway Action Response Team (CHART) vehicles responding to incidents have been struck by other motorists, including five so far in 2021. As of this August, 14 tow providers nationwide have lost their lives while helping others at the roadside. On July 4, a AAA Tow Driver in Ohio was killed while placing a disabled vehicle on the back of a flatbed. Three weeks later, another AAA driver in Colorado was struck and killed. Violating the Move Over law is a misdemeanor carrying a $110 fine and one point on the violator's driving license. If the violation causes a crash, the fine is $150 and three points. If there is a death or serious injury, the fine is $750 and three points.