Please note: this press release may not reflect MDOT MVA Current Operations.  
Click here to see the most up to date informatio​n on our operations.
Contact: Motor Vehicle Administration
Office of Media Relations
Whitney Nichels,


More than 90 Agencies, Organizations Awarded Grants for Efforts to Eliminate Fatalities on Maryland Roadways

GLEN BURNIE, MD (September 14, 2020) – As part of the statewide focus to prevent motor vehicle crashes and ultimately eliminate roadway fatalities, the Hogan Administration has announced distribution of $11.8 million in state and federal highway safety grants. The funds will be dispersed by the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration’s (MDOT MVA) Highway Safety Office to more than 90 traffic safety-related organizations and law enforcement agencies.

“As we improve the infrastructure and reliability of transportation across the state, these funds are essential to continue our focus on highway safety,” said Governor Larry Hogan. “By bringing together state and local agencies and private sector organizations, we are all working together to save lives on Maryland roadways."  

In 2019, 534 people were killed and thousands were injured in motor vehicle crashes statewide. The highway safety funds announced today will be used for initiatives to:

  • Increase the use of seat belts in all seats;
  • Prevent impaired, aggressive, and distracted driving;
  • Increase safety for pedestrians, motorcyclists and bicyclists;
  • Promote the correct use of child passenger safety seats;
  • Fund overtime enforcement of Maryland’s traffic laws;
  • Support police training for highway safety and traffic enforcement; and
  • Increase the efficiency and capability of Maryland’s traffic data systems.

“It is unacceptable that we average more than 100,000 crashes statewide each year. One injury or death on our roads is too many,” said MDOT Secretary Gregory Slater. “MDOT is committed to continuing our work with law enforcement agencies and traffic-safety partners to build a collaborative approach to reach our goal of eliminating motor vehicle crashes and fatalities.”

In 2019, Vision Zero was enacted following passage of legislation setting an overall goal of zero fatalities and serious injuries on Maryland’s roadways by 2030. This goal will guide partners as they implement safety programs with the distributed funds. Vision Zero also serves as a blueprint in development of Maryland’s 2021-2025 Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP), a comprehensive, multi-faceted approach to reduce fatalities and serious injuries on roadways across the state focused on the Four E's – education, engineering, enforcement and emergency medical services.

“We all need to remember every time we get behind the wheel that each of us has a responsibility to keep all road users safe. Year after year, we see the same, preventable causes of crashes,” said MDOT MVA Administrator Chrissy Nizer, who also serves as Governor Hogan’s Highway Safety Representative. “We are looking forward to working with our safety partners across the state to spread the messages to drive sober, buckle up, slow down, put the phone down, and watch for motorcyclists, pedestrians, and bicyclists.”

The funds awarded can only be used for traffic safety initiatives and are allocated based on crash data for each county and/or organization applications. The funding is for the federal Fiscal Year 2021, which runs from October 1, 2020, to September 30, 2021.

Learn more about the MDOT MVA’s Highway Safety Office at or on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram at @ZeroDeathsMD.

Below is a breakdown of the highway safety grant amounts.



Total Grant Amount

Aberdeen Police Department


Allegany County Sheriff’s Office


Annapolis Police Department


Anne Arundel County Police Department


Baltimore City Police Department


Baltimore County Department of Health 


Baltimore County Police Department


Baltimore County Police Department – Crash Reconstruction


Baltimore Metropolitan Council


Bel Air Police Department


Berlin Police Department


Calvert Alliance Against Substance Abuse


Calvert County Sheriff's Office


Caroline County Sheriff's Office


Carroll County Health Department


Carroll County Sheriff's Department


Cecil County Sheriff's Office


Charles County Sheriff's Office


Chesapeake Region Safety Council


Children's Village of Washington County Inc.


City of Bowie Police Department


City of Hyattsville Police Department


Crash Center for Research and Education


Cumberland Police Department


Dent Police Department


DRIVE SMART (for 2021 Maryland Summit)


Driving it Home of Prince George’s County


Easton Police Department


Elkton Police Department


Emergency Responder Safety Institute


Frederick County Health Department


Frederick Police Department


Frostburg Police Department


Fruitland Police Department


Gaithersburg Police Department


Greenbelt Police Department


Hagerstown Police Department


Hampstead Police Department


Harford County Sheriff's Office


Havre de Grace Police Department


Howard County Police Department


La Plata Police Department


Laurel Police Department


Maryland Chiefs of Police Association


Maryland Department of Health


Maryland Institute College of Art


Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems


Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration


Maryland Municipal League Police Executive Association


Maryland National Capital Park & Planning


Maryland Natural Resources Police Department


Maryland Sheriff's Association Inc.


Maryland State Police – Mobile Breath Testing Vehicle 


Maryland State Police – SPIDRE DUI Team 


Maryland State Police – Statewide Enforcement


Maryland State Police – Drug Recognition Expert


Maryland State’s Attorney’s Association 


Maryland Transportation Authority


Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments


Montgomery County Police Department


Montgomery County Sheriff's Office


Morgan State University


Mothers Against Drunk Driving


Mount Airy Police Department


Ocean City Police Department


Ocean Pines Police Department


Prince George's County Police Department


Princess Anne Police Department


Queen Anne’s Sheriff's Office


Riverdale Park Police Department


Rockville Police Department


Salisbury Police Department


Salisbury University Police Department


Seneca Valley High School


Statewide Traffic Safety Initiatives


St. Mary's County Health Department


St. Mary's County Sheriff's Office


Sykesville Police Department


Talbot County Sheriff's Office


Taneytown Police Department


University of Maryland Baltimore National Study Center 


University of Maryland College Park Police Department


University of Maryland Medical System


Washington College


Washington County Sheriff's Office


Washington Regional Alcohol Program


Westminster Police Department


Wicomico Sheriff's Office


Worcester County Health Department


Worcester County Sheriff's Office


Wor-Wic Community College