Curbstoning:
Unlicensed Vehicle Sales

The Maryland Vehicle Law Title # 15, Subtitle # 101, Definition of a Dealer:

“The State of Maryland requires a person to obtain a Maryland Dealer’s License is the person is in the
business of buying, selling, or exchanging vehicles, including a person who during any twelve (12)
month period offers to sell three (3) or more of these vehicles, the ownership which was acquired for
resale purposes, or any person who sells vehicles, whether or not that person acquired the vehicles for
personal or business use, if the vehicles are displayed at a fixed location used principally for the
purpose of selling vehicles on a regular basis.”

The penalty for this violation is a maximum fine of five thousand dollars ($5,000.9°) and/or up to one (1)
year in prison.

Charge:

Title # 15, Subtitle #302, Paragraph (a) in your Collateral (Pay Out) Book, is the charge for the above
violation, which states: Conducting business of a dealer without a license. This is a “must appear”
citation.

The Maryland Vehicle Law Title # 15: Section in the law that addresses dealers.

Open Title Explanation — Title #13, Section 112(c): Failure of transferee of vehicle to properly
apply for new title certificate. Collateral (Pay Out) Book (fine of $70.90),

Questions an Officer Should Ask:
* Are you a licensed Maryland Dealer?
* Are you the person selling the vehicles, or are you the property owner?
(Either the seller or the property owner can be charged.)
* Who owns the vehicles?

Secure the vehicle identification number and, if a camera is available, take pictures of the vehicle(s).
By contacting your dispatcher, a request for the title history can be ordered through MILES. Both the
pictures and the title history can be helpful in court.

If you have an questions, contact the MVA Investigative Unit at (410) 765-7541 or (410) 768-7536
between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.



Venta no autorizada de vehiculos:
En inglés, “Curbstoning”

Titulo # 15 de la ley de Maryland sobre vehiculos, Subtitulo # 101, Definicion de Agente /
Concesionario de Automoviles.

“El Estado de Maryland requiere que una persona obtenga una licencia para ser Agente de Automoviles
de Maryland, si la persona esta en el negocio de comprar, vender o intercambiar vehiculos, incluida (a)
una persona que durante un periodo de doce (12) mese ofrece vender tres (3) o mas de estos vehiculos
cuya propiedad fue adquirida para revender, o (b) cualquier persona que venda vehiculos, ya sea que los
baya adquirido para uso personal o comercial, si los vehiculos estan en exhibicién en un lugar especifico,
usado principalmente para vender vehiculos en forma regular.”

La pena para esta violacion es una multa maxima de cinco mil délares ($5,000.90) y/o hasta un (1) afio
de carcel.

Cargo:

Titulo #15, Subtitulo #302, Parrafo (a) en su Libro Colateral (de Multas), esta el cargo para la violacién
indicada anteriormente, el cual dice: Realizar negrocios de agente/concesionario de vehiculos sin
licencia. Esta es una citacion por la cual se “debe comparecer” en la corte.

El Titulo # 15 de la ley de Maryland sobre vehiculos: Seccion de la ley que hable de los
agents/concesionarios.

Explicacion de Titulo de propiedad abierto (no asignado) — Titulo #13, Seccion 112(c): Falta de
la persona a la cual le ha sido transferido el vehiculo, de solicitar un certificado de titulo nuevo. Libro
Colateral (de Multas) (multa de $70.00)

Preguntas que el oficial debe hacer:
* (Es usted un agente de vehiculos con licencia del Estado de Maryland?
* (Es usted la persona que vende los vehiculos? O ;es usted el propietario de los mismos?
(Tanto el vendedor como el propietario pueden ser imputados.)
* ;Quién es el duenio del vehiculo?

Obtenga el numéro de identificacién del vehiculo y, si hay una cAmara disponible, tome fotos del
vehiculo(s). Se puede solicitar una historia del titulo del vehiculo a traves de MILES, comunicandose
con la persona que la asigno la investigacion. Tanto las fotos como la historia del titulo pueden ser
utiles en la corte..

Si tiene alguna pregunta, comuniquese con la Unidad de Investigacién de la Administracién de
Vehiculos Motorizados (MVA) al (410) 765-7541 ¢ (410) 768-7536 entre las 8:30 a.m. y las 4:30 p.m.



