6. Emissions related repairs: e The emissions related repairs must be made
up to 30 days before and up to 120 days after
the last inspection.

e Your vehicle will be visually inspected by a

e Emissions related repairs to engine systems,
subsystems or components include but are not

limited to: Customer Service Representative to verify
- Air Induction - Engine Mechanical repairs and presence of emissions equipment.
- PCV - EGR e A waiver will not be issued if any emissions
- Air Injection - Catalytic Converter control devices are disconnected or removed.
- Ignition - Cooling e Federal and State laws may not allow repairs
- Evaporative - Electronic Engine to the exhaust system beyond the catalytic
Emissions Controls converter to count towards a waiver.
- Fuel Delivery - Idle Speed Controls e A waiver is valid for the balance of your 2-year

o ) test cycle.
e Other emissions related repairs:

- Emissions diagnostic work when performed
in conjunction with emissions related
repairs.

- Hoses, gaskets, brackets, clamps or other
accessories used in emissions related
repairs.

- Intgmal er{glpe parts or repairs that affect For more information call:
vehicle emissions.

- 0il and filter change. 410-768-7000
(r1y) 301-792-4563 DO
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7. Have your vehicle re-inspected

After repairs, get a free re-inspection by the
“valid through” date on your vehicle emissions Or visit: www.MVA.Maryland.gov or
certificate/diagnostic report. After that date, a www.mde.state.md.us

$15 late fee will be assessed, and increases by $15

for every four weeks (28 days) the vehicle is late

for re-inspection. Additional re-inspections after

the first free re-inspection cost $14 each. /

8. If your vehicle can’t pass after repair, 3/
a waiver may be available

e An application for a waiver, located on the I_et’s clear The A“‘
back of the vehicle emissions certificate/
diagnostic report may be submitted after a m Py
vehicle fails the test, undergoes a repair, and ————
fails the test again. ”%%Y%F?X‘.?sﬁii‘}i%EN'fT _MDE

. Itemized' original recei'pts or invoi'ces .must MOTOR VEHICLE Maryland Department
be submitted, along with the application, ADMINISTRATION of the Environment

indicating the minimum repair cost of $450
has been spent for emissions related repairs. EP-016 (11-17) I-Et S Glear The All'




1. Speak to the Customer Service
Representative

All VEIP test facilities have a customer service
representative (CSR) available during most hours
of operation who can answer questions about a
test failure or other aspects of VEIP. Talk to the
CSR before leaving the facility.

2. Review your Vehicle Emissions
Certificate/Diagnostic Report

It will identify the problem areas and provide a
guide for the necessary repairs.

3. Reasons why your vehicle failed may be:

For any test:

e Removal, alteration, or tampering of emissions
control equipment, including modifications of
the on-board diagnostics (OBD) system.

For the On-Board Diagnostics (OBD) test:

e The vehicle’s on-board diagnostics
(OBD) system has identified one or more
malfunctioning emissions control components
and has stored one or more Diagnostic
Trouble Codes (DTCs).

¢ The vehicle’s Malfunction Indicator Light (MIL)
on the dashboard is not functioning properly.

e The vehicle’s OBD system cannot
communicate with the VEIP test equipment.

¢ The OBD system is unable to communicate
with all required monitors.

PLEASE NOTE: The vehicle must be driven for
one (1) week to “reset” the OBD system after
repairs, before returning for a VEIP retest. If your
monitors continue to be unset on multiple test
attempts, your vehicle could fail.

For the Idle Exhaust Emissions test:

¢ Emissions of hydrocarbons (HC) and/or
carbon monoxide (CO) exceed test standards.
e Gas cap failure.
- The gas cap is leaking, damaged, or the
wrong cap for the vehicle.

- The gas cap must be replaced because it is
not properly controlling hydrocarbon (HC)
emissions from the fuel tank.

e Sample dilution failure.

- The CO + CO2 measurement was less than
6%, indicating that a valid exhaust sample
could not be taken from the vehicle.

- The vehicle has leaks in the exhaust system
or improper engine adjustments.

For a Hydrocarbon (HC) failure, some likely
causes for high readings may be:

e Air to fuel mixture too lean or too rich.

e Positive Crankcase Ventilation (PCV) valve not
functioning properly.

e Vacuum leak.

e Exhaust Gas Re-circulation System (EGR) not
functioning properly.

e Ignition timing not properly set.

e One or more spark plugs not performing as
they should.

e Catalytic converter partially clogged or not
functioning properly.

e Ignition system parts not working properly.

e Internal engine parts or equipment not
functioning.

e Various engine sensors not functioning.

For a Carbon Monoxide (CO) failure, some likely
causes for high readings may be:

e Air to fuel mixture too rich.

e Idle speed not correct.

e Air filter partially clogged.

e Choke not operating properly.

e Positive Crankcase Ventilation (PCV) valve not
functioning properly.

e Air or fuel problems, other equipment or
engine malfunctions.

e Catalytic converter partially clogged or not
properly functioning.

e Dirty engine oil needs changing.

¢ Various engine sensors not functioning.

4. Determine if the repairs are covered
by warranty

Depending on the age and mileage of your
vehicle, emissions repairs may be covered by
the manufacturer. Check the owner’s manual,
see your dealership, or call the manufacturer’s
customer service department for warranty
information.

5. Have your vehicle repaired

¢ Give the vehicle emissions certificate/
diagnostic report to your mechanic. It will
help your mechanic determine what caused
the vehicle to fail.

e Certain repair facilities are certified to
perform emissions work and offer approved
emissions analyzers, OBD diagnostic
equipment and trained personnel. A list of
these Certified Emissions Repair Facilities
(CERFs) is available at each VEIP station and
online at www.mde.state.md.us/veip.

¢ For OBD failures, the vehicle’s on-board
diagnostic system will need to be checked
using a scan test tool. Most repair facilities
have such scan tools.

¢ For do-it-yourself repairs, refer to your owner’s
manual or other guides which may help you
correct problems. There is also a decal in
the engine compartment which contains the
manufacturer’s tune-up specifications.

¢ Federal and State law prohibit the removal or
alteration of emissions control equipment.

e Repair information on the reverse side of the
emissions certificate/diagnostic report must
be completed by the mechanic or person who
did the repair work.

e Bring the complete certificate/diagnostic
report with you when you return for a
re-inspection.



