

Bulletin

D-09-20-01

Date: September 9, 2020

Bulletin: All Dealers and Title Services

From: Business Licensing and Driver Instructional Services

Subject: In-Transit Tag Update

In-Transit Tag

Effective July 1, 2020, Temporary In-Transit Registration may only be issued for a period of 14 days, for an MVA cost of \$15.00 to Non-resident owner(s) of a vehicle. The tag should only be issued after the vehicle owner(s) has furnished proof of identity, vehicle ownership, and insurance. The vehicle must currently be titled in Maryland. The Title Service Agent may not issue more than one Temporary In-Transit Registration for any vehicle to the same customer.

Best Practice and Document Retention Requirements:

Only Maryland Title Certificates that have been properly reassigned are acceptable and a notarized bill of sale with the signature of all sellers and buyers should be provided for vehicles less than 7years. The bill of sale is not required to be notarized for vehicles 7years old and older.

Maryland Vehicle Law requires licensees to retain records for 3 years after the transaction to which it applies. **Note:** The Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration recommends that you retain records for at least 5 years or longer. All records can either be preserved in original form or in an electronic format. The following documents are to be copied and retained:

- 1. Driver License/Identification Documents
- 2. Copies of Title and Reassignments
- 3. Proof of Insurance (name of insurance company and policy/binder number)
- 4. Copies of In-Transit Tag Issued with Customer signatures on temporary registration card

Should you have any questions, please contact us at bldisd@mdot.maryland.gov