



D-03-23-02

Date: March 15, 2022

Bulletin: All Dealers

From: Business Licensing and Compliance

RE: Criminal Background Checks

This bulletin is to provide guidance to all dealers on the criminal background check process when applying for a salesman license.

In accordance with Maryland COMAR 11.12.01.13(J)(1), Upon application for issuance and renewal of a Salesman license an applicant shall furnish the Administration with an official copy of their criminal history record from the Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS) Central Repository of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services. The criminal history shall be dated within 30 days of the submission date.

If applicable, in addition to the Maryland background check, applicants must provide a full and complete criminal background check from the state in which they reside. The request should be made through the state law enforcement agency and submitted with your application. At the applicant's discretion, a Federal Bureau of Investigations criminal history record may be substituted for an out of state criminal background check.

You may contact 410-764-4501 or 1-888- 795-0011 (toll free) to schedule an appointment or visit an authorized location that provides background services.

You may also visit the Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services website at https://www.dpscs.state.md.us/publicservs/bgchecks.shtml to obtain additional information regarding a Maryland background check.

Be sure to take the attached application when getting the fingerprints done. Please do not remove the Agency Authorization number or ORI number as this will cause your application to be rejected by CJIS. Special Note: **Your background check**

from CJIS will be sent directly to the MDOT Motor Vehicle Administration, 6601 Ritchie Highway N. E., 21062, Attention: Business Licensing Division.

Please be sure to have the fingerprints done prior to application. This will ensure timely processing of your application. Because the criminal background is only valid for 30-days, if the criminal background is not received within 30 days, the application will be denied and a new application will need to be submitted.

If you have any questions, please contact us at 410-787-2952 or mvabldisd@mdot.maryland.gov.