



D-21-06-1

Date: June 1, 2021

Bulletin: All Dealers and Tag & Title Services

From: Business Licensing and Driver Instructional Services

Subject: Legislation Update

The following are the highlights of bills that have passed and may have a direct impact on dealer and/or title services.

The following bills are Effective June 1, 2021 and July 1, 2021

HB0559/SB0429 - For Hire Driving and Vehicles - Requirements

This bill requires the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration to allow the Maryland Public Service Commission (PSC) to access the photo of a person applying for a for-hire driver license through the Public Service Commission; or the applicant may file with the application, a recent photograph in the format that the PSC specifies. The PSC will attach the photograph to the for-hire license when issued. In addition, an individual may not operate, for hire, a Motor Vehicle designed to carry 15 or fewer Passengers, including the driver, unless the individual holds a valid for-hire driver's license or a Transportation Network Operator's License issued by the Public Service Commission or the Appropriate Local Authority. Effective Date June 1, 2021.

HB0967 – Baltimore City – Speed Monitoring Systems-Interstate 83

This bill authorizes the placement of speed monitoring systems on Interstate 83 in Baltimore City. From the fines collected by Baltimore City, as a result of, violations enforced by speed motoring systems, any balance remaining after the allocation of fines will be remitted to the Comptroller, for distribution to the Baltimore City Department of Transportation, to be used solely to assist in covering the cost of roadway improvements on Interstate 83 in Baltimore City. This funding is not to take the place of other funding that would otherwise be appropriated for the use described. Effective Date June 1, 2021

HB0044 - Clean Cars Act of 2021

For fiscal year 2021 through 2023, an individual, business entity, or unit of State and local government, may apply to the Maryland Energy Administration (MEA), for an electric vehicle recharging equipment rebate, for the costs of acquiring and installing qualified electric vehicle recharging equipment. For each fiscal year, the total amount of rebates issued, may not exceed \$1,800,000.

The MEA must transfer the lesser of \$10,000,000 or the actual total outstanding amount of the credit allowed against excise tax from the Strategic Energy Investment Fund, to the Transportation Trust Fund, to offset the reduction in revenues from the vehicle excise tax credit for qualified plug-in electric drive vehicles and fuel cell electric vehicles under \$13-815 of the Transportation Article applied for before July 1, 2020. Effective Date July 1, 2021

<u>HB0072/SB0048 County Boards of Education – Student Transportation – Vehicles and Report</u>

A county board may provide transportation to and from school using a vehicle other than a Type I or Type II school vehicle when a school vehicle cannot reasonably be provided for the following public school students: Preschool-age students; Students with disabilities; Homeless youth; Children in foster care; Students without access to school buses; Students in a nonpublic school placement, Students in dual enrollment programs, work programs, or other educational programs based off the school campus. A county board may provide transportation in accordance with this law, through a written determination, to a particular group of students that is not listed above. The State Department of Education, in consultation with school boards, and the Motor Vehicle Administration will adopt regulations. Effective Date July 1, 2021

<u>SB0726 Vehicle Laws – Personal Delivery Devices – Standards and Requirements</u>

A personal deliver device is defined as a powered device, operated primarily on shoulders, sidewalks, and crosswalks; and is intended to transport property on Public Right of Ways; weighs not more than 550 pounds, excluding cargo; and is capable of navigating with or without the active control or monitoring of an individual. A personal delivery device may operate without registration on any roadway, sidewalk, shoulder, or crosswalk in the State. A personal delivery device may not unreasonably interfere with traffic, block public rights of way, transport hazardous materials, or operate on a sidewalk or crosswalk at a speed exceeding 7 MPH.

A personal delivery device may not travel on any roadway where there are sidewalks, or a shoulder adjacent to the roadway; or the posted maximum speed limit is more than 35 miles per hour. Effective July 1, 2021

If you have questions or concerns, please contact MDOT MVA Business Licensing and Driver Instructional Services at 410-787-2952 or mvabldisd@mva.maryland.gov