INSTRUCTIONS & WORKSHEET FOR COMPLETING WITHHOLDING FORMS FOR MARYLAND STATE EMPLOYEES

The law requires that you complete an Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate so that your employer, the state of Maryland, can withhold federal and state income tax from your pay. Your current certificate remains in effect until you change it.

If you have previously filed as "EXEMPT" from federal or state withholding, you must file a new certificate annually by February 15 of each year.

Complete the Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate as follows:

Section 1 - Employee Information

- Please check type of Payroll Regular (RG), Contract (CT), or University of Maryland (UM)
- Name of Employing Agency Enter name of agency
- Agency Number Provided by Agency Payroll Office
- Employee Social Security Number
- Employee Name Complete first name, middle initial, last name
- Home Address Street name and number or R.D. number
- Address Continued Apartment number or P. O. Box number. Pennsylvania residents enter township or borough in which they reside
- City, State, Zip code Abbreviate state; enter complete five-digit zip code
- County of Residence Enter Baltimore City or Maryland County in which you presently reside

Section 2 - Federal Withholding Form W-4

To complete section 2 see federal worksheet online at:

http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw4.pdf

Section 3 - State Withholding Form (Choose Appropriate Form)

- Maryland (Form MW 507) - To complete section 3 see Maryland worksheet page 2 online at:

$http://forms.maryland taxes.com/current_forms/mw507.pdf$

- District of Columbia (Form D-4) - To complete section 3 see District of Columbia worksheet online at :

http://otr.cfo.dc.gov/otr/frames.asp?doc=/otr/lib/otr/tax/forms/D-4.pdf

- West Virginia (WV/IT-104) - To complete section 3 see West Virginia worksheet online at:

http://www.state.wv.us/taxrev/uploads/it100-1-a.pdf

Section 4 - Employee Signature - Your signature is required. Withholding Forms are not valid unless signed.

INSTRUCTIONS - PAGE 1 EMPLOYEE'S FEDERAL WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCE

Form W-4 (2011)

Purpose. Complete Form W-4 so that your employer can withhold the correct federal income tax from your pay. Consider completing a new Form W-4 each year and when your personal or financial situation changes.

Exemption from withholding. If you are exempt, complete only lines 1, 2, 3, 4 and 7 and sign the form to validate it. Your exemption for 2011 expires February 16, 2012. See Pub. 505, Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax.

Note: If another person can claim you as a dependent on his or her tax return, you cannot claim exemption from withholding if your income exceeds \$950 and includes more than \$300 of unearned income (for example, interest and dividends).

Basic instructions. If you are not exempt, complete the Personal Allowances Worksheet below. The worksheets on page 2 further adjust your withholding allowances based on itemized deductions, certain credits, adjustments to income, or two-earner/multiple jobs situations. Complete all worksheets that apply. However, you may claim fewer (or zero) allowances. For regular wages, withholding must be based on allowances you claimed and may not be a flat amount or percentage of wages.

Head of household. Generally, you may claim head of household filing status on your tax return only if you are unmarried and pay more than 50 percent of the costs of keeping up a home for yourself and your dependent(s) or other qualifying individuals. See Pub. 501, Exemptions, Standard Deduction, and Filing Information, for infomation.

Tax credits. You can take projected tax credits into account in figuring your allowable number of withholding allowances. Credits for child or dependent care expenses and the child tax credit may be claimed using the Personal Allowances Worksheet below. See Pub. 919, How Do I Adjust My Tax Withholding, for information on converting your other credits into withholding allowances.

Nonwage income. If you have a large amount of nonwage income, such as interest or dividends, consider making estimated tax payments using Form 1040-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals. Otherwise, you may owe additional tax. If you have pension or annuity income, see Pub. 919 to find out if you should adjust your withholding on form W-4 or W-4P.

Two earners/Multiple jobs. If you have a working spouse or more than one job, figure the total number of allowances you are entitled to claim on all jobs using worksheets from only one Form W-4. Your withholding usually will be most accurate when all allowances are claimed on the Form W-4 for the highest paying job and zero allowances are claimed on the others. See Pub. 919 for details.

Nonresident alien. If you are a nonresident alien, see Notice 1392, Supplemental Form W-4 Instructions for Nonresident Aliens, before completing this Form.

Check your withholding. After your Form W-4 takes effect, use Pub. 919 to see how the amount you are having withheld compares to your projected total tax for 2011. See Pub. 919, especially if your earnings exceed \$130,000 (Single) or \$180,000 (Married).

Recent name change? If your name on line 1 differs from that shown on your social security card, call 1-800-772-1213 to initiate a name change and obtain a social security card

	Personal Allowances Worksheet (Keep for your records.)	_
A	Enter "1" for yourself if no one else can claim you as a dependent	_
В	 You are single and have only one job; or You are married, have only one job, and your spouse does not work; or Your wages from a second job or your spouse's wages (or the total of both) are \$1,500 or less. 	
С	Enter "1" for your spouse. But, you may choose to enter "-0-" if you are married and have either a working spouse or more than one job. (Entering "-0-" may help you avoid having too little tax withheld.)	
D E F	Enter number of dependents (other than your spouse or yourself) you will claim on your tax return	_
G	 Child Tax Credit (including additional child tax credit). See Pub. 972, Child Tax Credit, for more information. If your total income will be less than \$61,000 (\$90,000 if married), enter "2" for each eligible child; then less "1" if you have three or more eligible children. If your total income will be between \$61,000 and \$84,000 (\$90,000 and \$119,000 if married), enter "1" for each eligible child plus "1" additional if you have six or more eligible children	
H	Add lines A through G and enter total here. (Note. This may be different from the number of exemptions you claim on your tax return.) For accuracy, complete all worksheets that apply. If you plan to itemize or claim adjustments to income and want to reduce your withholding, see the Deductions and Adjustments Worksheet on page 2. If you have more than one job or are married and you and your spouse both work and the combined earnings from all jobs exceed \$40,000 (\$10,000 if married), see the Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet on page 2 to avoid having too little tax withheld. If neither of the above situations applies, stop here and enter the number from line H on line 5 of Form W-4	

Form W-4 (2011)

			rage z
	Deductions and Adjustments Worksheet		
Note	b. Use this worksheet only if you plan to itemize deductions or claim certain credits or adjustments to income.		
1	Enter an estimate of your 2011 itemized deductions. These include qualifying home mortgage interest, charitable contributions, state and local taxes, medical expenses in excess of 7.5% of your income, and miscellaneous deductions	1	\$
2	Enter: \$11,600 if married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er) \$8,500 if head of household \$5,800 if single or married filing separately	2	\$
3	Subtract line 2 from line 1. If zero or less, enter "-0-"	3	\$
4	Enter an estimate of your 2011 adjustments to income and any additional standard deduction (see Pub. 919)	4	\$
5	Add lines 3 and 4 and enter the total. (Include any amount for credits from the Converting Credits to		
	Withholding Allowances for 2011 Form W-4 Worksheet in Pub. 919.)	5	\$
6	Enter an estimate of your 2011 nonwage income (such as dividends or interest)	6	\$
7	Subtract line 6 from line 5. If zero or less, enter "-0-"	7	\$
8	Divide the amount on line 7 by \$3,700 and enter the result here. Drop any fraction	8	
9	Enter the number from the Personal Allowances Worksheet, line H, page 1	9	
10	Add lines 8 and 9 and enter the total here. If you plan to use the Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet, also enter this total on line 1 below. Otherwise, stop here and enter this total on Form W-4, line 5, page 1	10	

Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet (See Two earners or multiple jobs on page 1.)					
Note	. Use this worksheet only if the instructions under line H on page 1 direct you here.				
1	Enter the number from line H, page 1 (or from line 10 above if you used the Deductions and Adjustments Worksheet)	1			
2	Find the number in Table 1 below that applies to the LOWEST paying job and enter it here. However, if you are married filing jointly and wages from the highest paying job are \$65,000 or less, do not enter more than "3"				
3	If line 1 is more than or equal to line 2, subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter the result here (if zero, enter	2			
"	"-0-") and on Form W-4, line 5, page 1. Do not use the rest of this worksheet	3			
Note	e the	additional			
4	Enter the number from line 2 of this worksheet				
5	Enter the number from line 1 of this worksheet				
6	Subtract line 5 from line 4	6			
7	Find the amount in Table 2 below that applies to the HIGHEST paying job and enter it here	7	\$		
8	Multiply line 7 by line 6 and enter the result here. This is the additional annual withholding needed	8	\$		
9	Divide line 8 by the number of pay periods remaining in 2011. For example, divide by 26 if you are paid				
	every two weeks and you complete this form in December 2010. Enter the result here and on Form W-4,				
	line 6, page 1. This is the additional amount to be withheld from each paycheck	9	\$		

Table 1				Table 2				
Married Filing Jointly		All Others		Married Filing Jointly		All Others		
If wages from LOWEST paying job are —	Enter on line 2 above	If wages from LOWEST paying job are –	Enter on line 2 above	If wages from HIGHEST paying job are—	Enter on line 7 above	If wages from HIGHEST paying job are—	Enter on line 7 above	
\$0 - \$5,000 - 5,001 - 12,000 - 12,001 - 22,000 - 25,001 - 30,000 - 30,001 - 40,001 - 48,000 - 48,001 - 55,001 - 65,001 - 72,000 - 72,001 - 85,001 - 85,001 - 97,001 - 110,001 - 120,000 - 120,001 - 135,000 - 135,001 and over	0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15	\$0 - \$8,000 - 8,001 - 15,000 - 15,001 - 25,000 - 25,001 - 30,000 - 30,001 - 40,000 - 40,000 - 50,000 - 50,001 - 65,000 - 65,001 - 80,000 - 80,001 - 95,000 - 95,001 - 120,000 - 120,001 and over	0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	\$0 - \$65,000 65,001 - 125,000 125,001 - 185,000 185,001 - 335,000 335,001 and over	\$560 930 1,040 1,220 1,300	\$0 - \$35,000 35,001 - 90,000 90,001 - 165,000 165,001 - 370,000 370,001 and over	\$560 930 1,040 1,220 1,300	

Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice. We ask for the information on this form to carry out the Internal Revenue laws of the United States. Internal Revenue Code sections 3402(f)(2) and 6109 and their regulations require you to provide this information; your employer uses it to determine your federal income tax withholding. Failure to provide a properly completed form will result in your being treated as a single person who claims no withholding allowances; providing fraudulent information may subject you to penalties. Routine uses of this information include giving it to the Department of Justice for civil and criminal litigation, to cities, states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. commonwealths and possessions for use in administering their tax laws; and to the Department of Health and Human Services for use in the National Directory of New Hires. We may also disclose this information to other countries under a tax treaty, to federal and state agencies to emforce federal nontax criminal laws, or to federal law enforcement and intelligence agencies to combat terrorism.

You are not required to provide the information requested on a form that is subject to the Paperwork Reduction Act unless the form displays a valid OMB control number. Books or records relating to a form or its instructions must be retained as long as their contents may become material in the administration of any Internal Revenue law. Generally, tax returns and return information are confidential, as required by Code section 6103.

The average time and expenses required to complete and file this form will vary depending on individual circumstances. For estimated averages, see the instructions for your income tax return.

If you have suggestions for making this form simpler, we would be happy to hear from you. See the instructions for your income tax return.

Revenue Administration Division



INSTRUCTIONS

EMPLOYEE'S STATE OF MARYLAND WITHOLDING ALLOWANCE

Employee Withholding Allowance Certificate

- a. Number of personal exemptions (total exemptions on lines A, C and D of the federal W-4 or W-4A worksheet
- b. Number of additional exemptions for dependents over 65 years of age
- c. Number of additional exemptions for certain items, including estimated itemized deductions, alimony payments, allowable childcare expenses, qualified retirement contributions, business losses and employee business expenses for the year.
- d. Number of additional exemptions for taxpayer and/or spouse at least 65 years of age and/or blind
- e. Total add lines a through d and enter here an on line 1 (Form MW507)

Exemptions for dependents - to qualify as your dependent, you must be entitled to an exemption for the dependent on your federal income tax return for the corresponding tax

Additional exemptions for dependents over 65 years of age - An additional exemption is allowed for dependents who are 65 years of age or older.

Additional exemptions - You may claim additional exemptions for certain items, including estimated itemized deductions, alimony payments, allowable child care expenses, qualified retirement contributions, business losses and employee business expenses for the year. One additional withholding exemption is permitted for each \$3,200 of estimated itemized deductions or adjustments to income that exceed the standard deduction allowance.

NOTE: Standard deduction allowance is 15% of Maryland adjusted gross income with a minimum of \$1,500 and a maximum of \$2,000 for each taxpayer.

Additional exemptions for taxpayer and/or spouse - An additional \$1,000 may be claimed if the taxpayer and/or spouse is at least 65 years of age and/or blind on the last day of the tax year.

Line 2

Additional withholding per pay period under agreement with employer - if you are not having enough tax withheld, you may ask your employer to withhold more by entering an additional amount on Line 2.

Line 3

Exemption from withholding. You may be entitled to claim an exemption from the withholding of Maryland income tax if:

a. last year you did not owe any Maryland income tax and had a right to a full refund of any tax withheld; and

b. this year you do not expect to owe any Maryland income tax and expect to have the right to a full refund of all income tax withheld. If you are eligible to claim this exemption, your employer will not withhold Maryland income tax from your wages.

Students and seasonal employees - whose annual income will be below the minimum filing requirements (annual income less than \$9,350 for 2011) should claim exemption from withholding. This provides more income throughout the year and avoids the necessity of filing a Maryland income tax return.

Line 4

Certification of nonresidence in the State of Maryland-

This line is to be completed by residents of Pennsylvania and Virginia who are employed in Maryland and do not maintain a place of abode in Maryland for 183 days or

Line 4 is *not* to be used by residents of other states who are working in Maryland, because such persons are liable for Maryland income tax and withholding from their wages is required.

If you are domiciled in the District of Columbia, Pennsylvania or Virginia and maintain a place of abode in Maryland for 183 days or more, you become a statutory resident of Maryland and you are required to file a resident return with Maryland reporting your total income. You must apply to your domicile state for any tax credit to which you may be entitled under the reciprocal provisions of the law.

If you are domiciled in West Virginia, you are not required to pay Maryland income tax on wage or salary income, regardless of the length of time you may have spent in Maryland.

Line 5

Under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act as amended by the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act, you may be exempt from Maryland income tax on your wages if (i) your spouse is a member of the armed forces present in Maryland in compliance with military orders; (ii) you are present in Maryland solely to be with your spouse; and (iii) you maintain your domicile in another state. If you claim exemption under the SCRA enter your state of domicile (legal residence) on Line 5; enter "EXEMPT" in the box to the right on Line 5; and attach a copy of your spousal military identification card to Form MW507.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS Federal Privacy Act information -

Social Security numbers must be included. The mandatory disclosure of your social security number is authorized by the provisions set forth in the Tax-General Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland. Such numbers are used primarily to administer and enforce the individual income tax laws and to exchange income tax information with the Internal Revenue Service, other states and tax officials of this state.

Information furnished to other agencies or persons shall be used solely for the purpose of administering tax laws or the specific laws, administered by the person having statutory right to obtain it.

Duties and Responsibilities of Employer -

Retain this certificate with your records. You are required to submit a copy of this certificate and accompanying attachments to the

Compliance Division Compliance Programs Section 301 West Preston Street Baltimore MD 21201

when received if:

- 1. you have any reason to believe this certificate is incorrect.
- 2. the employee claims more than 10 exemptions;
- 3. the employee claims exemptions from withholding because he/she had no tax liability for the preceding tax year, expects to incur no tax liability this year and the wages are expected to exceed \$200
- 4. the employee claims exemptions from withholding on the basis of nonresidence.
- 5. the employee claims an exemption from withholding under the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act.

Upon receipt of any exemption certificate (form MW507), the Compliance Division will make a determination and notify you if a change is required.

Once a certificate is revoked by the Comptroller, the employer must send any new certificate to the Comptroller for approval before implementing the new certificate.

If an employee claims exemption under 3, 4 or 5 above, a new exemption certificate must be filed by February 15th of the following year.

Duties and Responsibilities of Employee -

If, on any day during the calendar year, the number of withholding exemptions that the employee is entitled to claim is less than the number of exemptions claimed on the withholding certificate in effect, the employee shall file a new withholding exemption certificate with the employer within 10 days after the change occurs.

For additional information please call 410-767-1300 or toll free 1-800-492-1751

> or visit our Web site at www.marylandtaxes.com