Unit Ten: Owning A Vehicle

MORE THAN JUST DRIVING AWAY:
TAGS, TITLES, REGISTRATION, AND INSURANCE




Objectives

= Students will be able to describe how to legally register and maintain
registration of a vehicle in Maryland.

o Including VEIP
o Insurance

o Tags and Title responsibilities
- Students will complete final exam.




What Is A Vehicle Safety Inspection?

When you buy a used vehicle, you must have your vehicle inspected.

- Must be inspected by a licensed Maryland inspection station.

- Automobile dealer, service station or specialized automobile service center may all be licensed
as Maryland inspection stations.

- Certificate is valid for 9o days.
- Vehicles are certified electronically with the information going directly to the MVA.
- You may request a copy of the report when your inspection is completed.




When Do I Not Need To Get My Vehicle Inspected?

When you buy a new vehicle.

After purchasing the vehicle, Maryland does not require annual
inspections.

You will need to keep your vehicle in good working order or ris
receiving a citation from law enforcement.




Safety Equipment Repair Order Or S.E.R.O.

MARYLAND SAFETY EQUIPMENT 9252851
REPAIR ORDER

(PURSUANT TO TITLE 23 OF THE TRANSPORTATION ARTICLE, ANNOTATED CODE OF MARYLAND)

DRIVER'S LICENSE NOQ. CLASS STATE

DRIVER'S NAME (FIRST) (MIDDLE) {LAST)

VEHICLE OWNER'S FULL NAME

OWNER CURRENT ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

MD VEHICLE TAG NO. (MD ONLY) MAKE VEH. YEAR TYPE

RANG. LAMP *

W AnP =

R. LAMP *

X. LAMP

MG, LAMP »

MP =

TORS *

IR BRAKE COMP.

If you are stopped by law

enforcement, you may receive a

S.E.R.Oif

 Any of your lights are not
functioning properly,

« Any of your glass is broken or
cracked,

» If your safety belt is not operating
correctly, or

* Your windows are overly tinted.




Safety Equipment Repair Order

What will I need to do?
If you receive a S.E.R.O., you will have 10 days to fix any problem.

If the problems is not fixed within 30 days, your registration may be
suspended.

For detailed information about SERO’s, please go to mva.maryland.gov



Insurance

All Maryland vehicles MUST be insured at ALL
times.

What 1s insurance?

It covers financial losses to you or to another person when

you are in a crash. Please remember that these

What do those three numbers mean? EW/IW W18 §EE KOS
coverage. You can always buy

0,000 for bodily inju ,
$ 3 y 1 I'y more. COIlSlllt dll 1Insurance

$ 60,000 for 2 or more people company, or the Maryland

$ 15,000 property damage Insurance Commission for
more information.




Can I Drive Without Insurance?

Insurance is required by Maryland Law.

* $ 150 fine for first 30 days and $7 for each additional day, up to an annual maximum of
$2500 per vehicle.

* Your registration will be suspended if you do not have insurance

 If you drive with a suspended registration, your vehicle may be impounded and you may
be ticketed and/or fined.

You must always have proof of insurance in your vehicle when you are
driving.

Proof on insurance may either be in electronic or paper form.



Step One: Registration

What is registration?

* Registering your vehicle shows that you
are the owner.

* Verifies that you have insurance.

* Verifies that all legal requirements
have been met.

* Two part document: your license plate
and your vehicle registration.




Titles And Registration

Step Two: Renewing my registration
You will need to renew your registration every two years.

It can be done at mva.maryland.gov or one of the MVA kiosks.
Price will vary depending on the size, type, and age of your vehicle.
You will not need to bring proof of insurance.




Titles and Registration

Step One: Title
What is a title?

Official proof of ownership of a vehicle

Also states mileage of vehicle when the title is
issued.

Is an official legal document.
Should be stored safely but not in your vehicle.

How do I get a title?

Any time you purchase a vehicle, you will
receive a title from the seller.

After purchase, you will need to get a new title
showing your ownership from the MVA.

11

': MARYLAND CERTIFICATE OF TITLE

DO NOT ACCEPT TITLE SHOWING ANY ERASURES, ALTERATIONS OR VOIDS

I 25 1 0 I 3 A A 10 1 S 27 W 7. IR 4

C000000
|~ VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NO. © YEAR MAKE BODYSTYLE CLASS ODOMETER  BRAND © Tmenumesa -

EXCEPT. GR: VEH. WT. GR. COMB. WT. FEE (TAGS) -~ INSPECTION DATE - - -

|- OWNER'S SOUNDEX / DRIVER LIGENGE NO. : CO-OWNER'S SOUNDEX /- DRIVER LI

4 NAME(S) AND ADDRESS OF REGISTERED OWNER(S)

SAMPLIE

A. Actual Mileage
B. Exceeds Mechanical Limits
C. Not Actual Mileage

CONTROL NO.
(This is not & Title No.)

C000000

[ED, HEREBY CERTIFY THAT ION FOR CERTIFICATE OF TITLE HAS 'BEEN MADE FOR THE VEHICLE DESCRIBED HEREON,
JOVISIONS OF THE MOT: WS THIS STATE. AND THE APPLICANT NAMED ON THE FACE HEREOF HAS BEEN DULY
OWNER OF SAID VEHICLE

ION WILL NOT BE RESI OR FALSE OR FRAUDULENT ODOMETER STATEMENTS MADE IN THE ASSIGNMENT OF THE CERTIFICATE
OF TITLE OR FOR ERRORS MADE IN RECORDIN Y THE ADMINISTRATION.

NAME(S) AND ADDRESS OF SECURED PARTIES IN RECORDED ORDER
LIEN RELEASE

MVA USE ONLY

OFFICIALLY ISSUED ON THE DATE SET FORTH ABOVE

/_7
g e adun

MINISTRATOR OF MOTOR VEHICLES

CONTROL NO.
{This is not & Titie No.)

C000000

¥ iza,



http://www.mva.maryland.gov/

Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program
V.E.L.P.




VEIP Notification Maryland Vehicle Emissions Inspection Notice

YOll Will receive a letter 1ike Maryland law requires that the vehicle listed below be tested for emissions
th]S between now and:

March 23, 20

This vehicle may be tested for emissions as sooB a8 you
receive this notice. See enclosed brochure for exact
locations of VEIP testing stations.
Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday-Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m,
Tuesday-Wednesday: 7.0 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

It Will have a date When L D|ch . Y Saturday: 7:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

B o o Thursday and Friday are the least busy days.
your lnSp eCtIOIl 1S due . All VEIP stations are closed on Sunday and on all State holidays

| Inspection Due Datj . observed by the Mator Vehicle Administration and all other days
323 that the MVA is closed. Please check our website for an up to date
listing of closures. www.mea.m

Vehicle Informat’

Your vehicle information.

Registered Owner:

the day
(28) days

Payment: Cash, VISA/
Your information. > American Express, mon

Travelers Check,
heck (with 2 current

I?r//.~~~

I.et’s clr The Air

Information about where
ild be exempt from inspection. If you own a diesel/electric vehicle

yoﬁ Cflntgott(()igEt your é t g an extension, please complete the other side of this notice.
venicle teste




Suspension

What if I don’t renew my registration, get my
emissions tested, or maintain auto insurance?

"WHWSTARSPANOCLED200ORC ©




What does suspension mean?

C

Suspension means that your vehicle tags are no longer valid.

If you are stopped, you will receive a citation.
You may have to pay fines.
Your vehicle may be impounded.

You will have to fix any problems before driving that car.

DO NOT DRIVE WITH SUSPENDED TAGS FOR ANY REASON!




What do you need to drive a vehicle legally in Maryland?
What is VEIP?

What are the two parts to registration?

How do you renew your registration?

How frequently do I need to renew my vehicle
registration and how much does it cost?

What is the difference between a title and a registration?
How frequently do I need to get my vehicle inspected?




Ver 7.1.17




Final Exam




Next Steps and Final Reminders

PREPARING FOR THE DRIVING TEST
GETTING YOUR PROVISIONAL LICENSE
BEING A SAFE DRIVER




Taking Your Driving Test

« Make sure that you have completed at least 60 hours of
driving practice

* 10 hours of that practice needs to be at night

« Must successfully complete both the BTW and the classroom

components of driver education.
x Completed all 36 hours of the Driver Education program.
x Passed both the Behind the Wheel and Classroom Finals with at least an 80%.
x Allowed at least 3 business days before signing up for your test at the MVA.



Schedule Your Driving Test

Go to MVA Central Scheduhng System at on the MVA webpage.

Maryland Onlir
‘ {ENT OF TRANSPORTA
&N W WMOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATION Mm

To complete the registration
process, you will need your
Maryland Learner’s Permit
Information

You must successfully complete driver education before scheduling your test.




What Do I Need To Bring To My Test?

® [earner’s instructional permit.

® Completed New Driver Handbook with all 60 hours logged in and the
certification page completed and signed.

® Licensed driver over 21 with a minimum of 3 years driving experience.
® Valid registration card.

® Proof of insurance, electronic or paper.



What Do I Need To Bring To My Test?

What about my car?
¢ Windshield must have an unobstructed view with no cracks.
¢ Driver and passenger doors must open and close.
® Seat belt must fasten properly.

¢ Tires must be properly inflated with adequate tread and no
missing lug nuts.

¢ Lights must operate properly.

e Must have at least 2 tank and an operational gas cap.
® Rearview and outside left side mirror must be secure.
® Car must be clean and free of debris.

¢ Muffler must be secure and operational.



What Will The Examiner Be Looking For On The Test?

Turns

* Using correct turn signal when preparing to make a turn or to enter or exit a designated area.

* As you approach the turn, checking traffic in all directions.

* Braking smoothly, when necessary, to get into the correct lane for the turn.

 Coming to a complete stop behind the stop line and at a safe distance from the vehicle in front of you.
* Checking traffic in all directions and yielding appropriately to other road users.

* Keeping the vehicle in the proper lane.

 Completing the turn in the correct lane and turning off your signal.

e Avoid getting too close to the curbs when making turns or performing an exercise.



What Will The Examiner Be Looking For On The Test?

Gear/Clutch Control
* Ensure your car is in the proper gear.

Intersections
* Check traffic thoroughly in all directions when approaching intersections.

* Do not change lanes while proceeding through the intersection.
* Once through the intersection, perform head/traffic checks.

Lane Changes
* If multiple lanes going in your direction, check your mirrors and your “blind spots.”

* Use the correct turn signal and smoothly change lanes when it is safe to do so.

e Cancel your turn signal upon completion of the lane change and check traffic behind you.



Automatic Fails

Failing to wear glasses or contact lenses, if needed.

Failing to properly fasten safety belt.

Exceeding three minutes to complete the reverse two point turn.
Moving a Cone/Flag.

Failing to come to a complete stop at a stop sign

Failing to obey signs, signals, any other traffic law

Being in an avoidable crash.

Hitting another vehicle, object or any pedestrian.

Committing any unsafe act or forcing another driver to take evasive action in
order to prevent a crash.

Putting the vehicle over sidewalks or curbs.

Not following the examiner’s verbal instructions.

Impeding the flow of traffic unnecessarily.

Removing both hands from the steering wheel while the vehicle is in motion.



A Safe Driver For Life

How can you be a safe driver for life?
* Obey the laws?

» Stay focused on the driving task?
 Wear safety belts at all times?
* S.E.E. consistently?

 Have the right mindset when driving?



