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Date:  August 30, 2024 

Bulletin: Driver Education Program Providers 

From:  Business Licensing and Compliance 

RE: New Legislation and changes to the Driver Education Curriculum 

 

Purpose 

In response to new laws, several changes have been made to the Driver Education Curriculum and the 3 

Hour Alcohol and Drug Education curriculum. 

Summary  

• As of July 1, 2023, the use of recreational cannabis became legal in the state of Maryland. Slides 

36 and 37 of the 3 Hour Alcohol and Drug Education curriculum have been altered to reflect 

that change, as well as communicate appropriate choices. 

• As of June 1, 2024, work zones are required to be equipped with new signage. There must be a 

sign indicating the beginning of a work zone and another indicating the end of the work zone. In 

addition, the work zone must display a sign with flashing blue lights that are active anytime the 

work zone itself is active. The Drivers Education curriculum was updated.  Slide 24 in Unit 7 

was added to convey this message and includes examples of signage. 

• As of October 1, 2024, the left lane of multi-lane highways in Maryland is primarily used for 

passing and not as a travel lane. The new law prohibits traveling in the left lane at a speed greater 

than 10 miles per hour below the general flow of traffic, which cannot exceed the posted speed 

limit. This information has been added to Unit 7, slide 37, in the talking points of the Drivers 

Education curriculum. 

• As of October 1, 2024, there are new sanctions for failing to yield the right of way to bicyclists 

lawfully operating in marked bike lanes, on road shoulders, or in crosswalks if that failure to yield 

results in a crash. The new sanctions include a possible fine of $2000.00, up to 2 months in 

prison, and 3 points on the offender’s driving record. The prison sentence may be imposed in 

place of or in addition to the fine. This information is represented in Unit 5, slide 12 in the 

Drivers Education curriculum. 

These changes will be available for download on September 1, 2024. Log onto the website containing the 

curriculum and download all relevant units listed above. Replace the units currently in use with the new 

units. 

School owners are responsible for assuring that all instructors are familiar with these changes.  
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