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Here are the facts about insurance needs
for vehicles in the State of Maryland.

Maryland Approved 
Insurance Companies
Liability insurance policies must be
obtained from an approved insurance
company licensed to do business in
Maryland, or an authorized agent of a
licensed company.

Types of Insurance
Required:

1. Liability insurance pays damages that 
are caused by you and suffered by the 
other party for personal injury, death, 
or property damage.  You must carry a 
minimum of $30,000 for bodily injury 
per person, $60,000 bodily injury for 
two or more people, and $15,000 for 
property damage.  Coverage above the 
minimum is available from your 
insurance company or agent.

2. Uninsured motorist coverage pays 
damages, after any applicable 
deductible, that are caused by an 
uninsured motorist  and suffered by 
you.  You must carry a minimum of 
$30,000 for bodily injury per person, 
$60,000 for bodily injury for two or 
more people, and $15,000 for property 
damage.

3. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage 
provides the benefits for medical, hospital 
and disability up to $2,500 for all 
reasonable expenses arising out of an 
accident.  Note:  Full PIP provides benefits 
for you, any member of your family, and any 
non-family occupant of your vehicle.  You 
may also choose limited PIP, which excludes 
benefits for you and members of your family 
age 16 and over.  This alternative costs less 
and should be considered if you already 
have medical and hospitalization insurance.

Want More Information?

Please Call
410-768-7000
(to speak to a customer service representative)
TTY for the hearing impaired
1-800-492-4575
www.MVA.Maryland.gov

Fax on Demand
1-410-424-3050
To request forms or a “Welcome to Maryland”
packet faxed to you.

Motor Vehicle Administration
6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E.
Glen Burnie, Maryland 21062
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To Change Insurance 
Information On MVA 
Records:
You need to provide the MVA with your
name and address, vehicle title number, new
insurance company name (not agency), and
new policy number.  You can provide
information by:

1. Mailing it to:
Motor Vehicle Administration
Insurance Compliance Division
Room 140
6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E.
Glen Burnie, MD 21062

2. Calling 410-768-7000 and speaking 
with a customer service representative.  
You may also need to provide written 
verification of the new policy.

3. E-mailing the MVA Insurance 
Compliance Division at:  
insurance@mdot.state.md.us

Proof of Insurance —
Frequently-Asked Questions

When must I provide proof of
insurance to the MVA?

• When your previous insurer informs the 
MVA your policy has been cancelled, and the 
MVA notifies you that proof of insurance is 
necessary.  Your new company does not 
automatically notify the MVA.

• If you receive a letter from the MVA for the 
accumulation of at least three driving points.

Why must I provide proof of insurance?
The law protects the public and helps reduce
insurance costs by identifying uninsured
motorists and keeping them off the roads.

What is meant by proof of insurance? 
How do I provide it?
When the MVA requests a proof of insurance, 
a Maryland Insurance Certification (FR-19) is
the only acceptable form of verification.  The
ID card and actual policy are not acceptable.

Maryland Insurance
Certification:  (FR-19)
When you register or renew a vehicle
registration, you must sign an insurance
certification.  Your signature acknowledges
that the minimum vehicle liability insurance
will be maintained throughout the registration
periods and the vehicle will not be driven
without insurance.

• It can only be issued by an insurance 
company licensed to do business in 
Maryland or an authorized agent of such 
a company.

• It’s only valid for 30 days.

• It’s free of charge from your insurance
company. Your FR19 can be mailed, faxed to
the MVA by an authorized agent from your
insurance company or can be electronically
submitted via the eFR19 Program.

• Photocopies are not accepted

Avoid Penalties!
Be sure when you return your license plates
and registration card immediately to any MVA
office and obtain a receipt when you cancel
your insurance, or sell or transfer ownership of
your vehicle.

Uninsured Vehicle
Owners Could:

• Lose license plates and vehicle registration 
privileges.

• Pay uninsured motorist penalty fees for each 
lapse of insurance—$150 for the first 30 
days, $7 for each day thereafter.

• Be prohibited from registering any future 
vehicles or renewing a suspended
registration.

• Have license plates confiscated by an 
authorized tag recovery agent, once a 
registration suspension is in effect.

• Pay a fine of up to $1,000 and/or one year
imprisonment for providing false evidence
of insurance.

Note:  These penalties are in addition to any 
fines or penalties imposed by a court of law.

If You’re Involved In 
An Accident:

• Provide your insurance information to:

• Any person in the accident.

• The driver, occupant(s), or persons with 
any vehicle or property damage in the 
accident.

• Any law enforcement officer present.

• Contact your insurance agent as soon as 
possible

• If you vehicle is uninsured, you may lose 
your driver’s license and be fined.


