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     Bulletin 

D-12-21-1 

Date:    December 8, 2021 

 

Bulletin:  All Title Services Agents  

 

From:   Business Licensing and Driver Instructional Services  

 

Subject:  Important Reminders for Temporary In-Transit Tag Registration 

 

 

The MDOT MVA would like to remind all Tag and Title Services Agents about the importance of following several 

key business processes regarding the issuance of Temporary In-Transit Tag Registrations.   

 

• A Temporary In-Transit Registration may only be issued to a non-resident owner.  A non-resident owner 

can be a business entity or an individual(s) who has purchased a vehicle to operate the vehicle on a 

highway in the State only for the purpose of transporting the vehicle to a jurisdiction outside the State for 

titling and registration. 

 

• A Temporary In-Transit Registration may only be issued for a period of 14 days, for a MDOT MVA cost of 

$15.00 and should only be issued after the vehicle owner(s) has furnished proof of identity, vehicle 

ownership, insurance, and the vehicle must currently be titled in Maryland.  

 

• The Title Service Agent may not issue more than one Temporary In-Transit Registration for any vehicle to 

the same customer.  The In-Transit Tag is only to be printed on the current 60-day Temporary Tag paper.  

Currently, the MDOT MVA Warehouse is fulfilling all Temporary Tag orders.  To place your order, please 

fax the “MVA Temporary Tag Material Order Ticket” to 410-766-3827 or it to 

mvawarehouse@mdot.aryland.gov.  A maximum of 25 In-Transit tags can be ordered at a time.    

 

Best Practice and Document Retention Requirements:  

 

Only Maryland Title Certificates that have been properly reassigned are acceptable and a notarized bill of sale with 

the signature of all sellers and buyers should be provided for vehicles less than 7years.   The bill of sale is not 

required to be notarized for vehicles 7- years old and older.   

 

Maryland Vehicle Law requires licensees to retain records for 3 years after the transaction to which it applies.  All 

records can either be preserved in original form or in an electronic format.  The following documents are to be 

copied and retained: 

 

1. Driver License/Identification Documents 

2. Copies of Title and Reassignments 

3. Proof of Insurance (name of insurance company and policy/binder number) 

4. Copies of In-Transit Tag Issued with Customer signatures on temporary registration card 

 

 

 

 

Should you have any questions, please contact us at mvabldisd@mdot.maryland.gov  
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