GLEN BURNIE, MD (August 10, 2017) – State officials are urging drivers to apply for a Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA) program that can reduce the amount of outstanding penalty fees they face for driving without insurance.
“We encourage individuals who are eligible to apply now for the insurance debt reduction program,” said Christine Nizer, MDOT MVA Administrator. “Allowing the waiver of 80 percent of outstanding fees owed for prior insurance violations is allowing many Maryland residents to register and insure their vehicle, increasing safety on our roadways.”
The program was set forth in law by the Maryland General Assembly. For more information, click here
To qualify, a person must:
· Be a Maryland resident;
· Have an uninsured motorist penalty that was delinquent before January 1, 2014;
· Have not been issued a judgement issued by the Department of Budget and Management Central Collections Unit; and,
· Subsequently maintain a registered insured vehicle for 6 or 12 months immediately after the date of enrollment in the program.
Qualified candidates have been notified directly through three letters and emails. Enrollment ends on August 15, 2017. For more information about the program, click here.