Please note: this press release may not reflect MDOT MVA Current Operations.  
Click here to see the most up to date informatio​n on our operations.
Contact: Motor Vehicle Administration
Office of Media Relations

Hogan Administration Announces $11.7 Million in Highway Safety Grants

State Pursuing Aggressive Plan to Reduce Roadway Fatalities and Injuries

GLEN BURNIE, MD – As part of the Hogan administration’s efforts to prevent traffic crashes and save lives on Maryland roads, Governor Larry Hogan today announced $11.7 million in federal highway safety funds will be granted to approximately 90 agencies and organizations across the state with the goal of reducing crashes and related injuries and deaths.

“The safety and security of Marylanders and visitors is our top priority, and our administration will continue to make investments to make our roadways safer,” said Governor Hogan. “These grants will be used to improve traffic safety and get dangerous, impaired, and distracted drivers off the road.”

Each year, approximately 500 people are killed in traffic crashes in Maryland. In 2016, 522 family members and friends never made it home after getting into their vehicles. The funds granted by the Hogan Administration and distributed through the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration’s Highway Safety Office will help fund the following traffic-safety efforts:

  • Increasing the use of seat belts in all seating positions;
  • Preventing impaired, aggressive, and distracted driving;
  • Increasing the safety of pedestrians, motorcyclists, and bicyclists;
  • Promoting the correct use of child passenger safety seats;
  • Funding overtime enforcement of Maryland’s traffic laws;
  • Supporting police training for highway safety and traffic enforcement; and
  • Increasing e-capability and efficiency of Maryland’s traffic data systems.

Maryland’s five-year Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP) guides the funding of traffic safety-related projects and will be used by state and local agencies and non-profit groups to address the strategies set forth in the plan for meeting the Toward Zero Deaths goal of cutting the number of deaths on Maryland roads in half by 2030. The state also is working with various Maryland jurisdictions to develop local SHSPs that address community-specific traffic issues and complement the broader plan.

“The only acceptable goal is to reduce the number of traffic crashes, injuries, and fatalities to zero,” said Maryland Transportation Secretary Pete K. Rahn.

The federal grant awards can only be used for traffic safety activities and are allocated based on crash data for each county and/or organization that applied for funding. Funds can only be spent during Federal Fiscal Year 2018 (October 1, 2017 – September 30, 2018). A breakdown of the amounts granted across the state:


Total Grant Amount

Aberdeen Police Department


Allegany County Sheriff's Office


Annapolis Police Department


Anne Arundel County Police Department


Baltimore City Police Department


Baltimore County Department of Health


Baltimore County Police Department


Bel Air Police Department


Berlin Police Department


Bladensburg Police Department


Calvert Alliance Against Substance Abuse


Calvert County Sheriff's Office


Cambridge Police Department


Caroline County Sheriff's Office


Carroll County Sheriff's Office


Cecil County Sheriff's Office


Charles County Sheriff's Office


Chesapeake Region Safety Council


Cheverly Police Department


City of Bowie


City of Hyattsville Police Department


Cumberland Police Department


Denton Police Department


Easton Police Department


Elkton Police Department


Frederick Police Department


Frostburg State University Police


Fruitland Police Department


Gaithersburg Police Department


Greenbelt Police Department


Hagerstown Police Department


Hampstead Police Department


Hancock Police Department


Harford County Sheriff's Office


Havre de Grace Police Department


Howard County Department of Police


Kent County Sheriff’s Office


Laurel Police Department


Maryland Chiefs of Police Association


Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene


Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems


Maryland Judiciary - Anne Arundel County DUI Court


Maryland Judiciary - Howard County DUI Court


Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions


Maryland Sheriffs' Association, Inc.


Maryland State Police - DRE


Maryland State Police - Mobile Unit


Maryland State Police - SPIDRE


Maryland State Police - Statewide


Maryland State's Attorneys' Association


Maryland Transportation Authority Police


Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments


MML PEA Committee of 2018


Montgomery County Police Department


Montgomery County Sheriff's Office


Morgan State University


Mothers Against Drunk Driving


Ocean City Police Department


Ocean Pines Police Department


Pocomoke City Police Department


Prince George's County Police Department


Princess Anne Police Department


Queen Anne's County Sheriff's Office


Riverdale Park Police Department


Rockville Police Department


Salisbury Police Department


Somerset County Sheriff's Office


St. Mary's County Circuit Court


St. Mary's County Sheriff's Office


Statewide Motorcycle Safety


Statewide Seatbelt Surveys


Statewide Traffic Safety Initiatives


Strategic Highway Safety Plan Evaluation


Sykesville Freedom District Fire Department


Sykesville Police Department


Talbot County Sheriff's Office


Taneytown Police Department


Town of La Plata Police Department


University of Baltimore Police Department


University of Maryland Baltimore, NSC


University of Maryland Department of Public Safety


University Park Police Department


Washington College


Washington County Sheriff's Office


Washington Regional Alcohol Program


Westminster Police Department


Wicomico County Sheriff's Office


Worcester County Health Department


Worcester County Sheriff's Office


Wor-Wic Community College