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IMPAIRED DRIVING IN MARYLAND 

 

THE FACTS 

 

 

 

 
 

• Motor vehicle crashes are a huge threat to public health. Over the past decade, the number of 
crashes reported on the nation’s roadways has declined annually. However, motor vehicle 
crashes continue to be a leading cause of death in the United States1. In 2016, approximately 7.3 
million crashes were reported; approximately 44 percent resulted in an injury or fatality2. 

                                                           
1 CDC National Vital Statistics Reports – 10 Leading Causes of Death, United States, 2016 
2 NHTSA Traffic Safety Facts – Summary of Motor Vehicle Crashes DOT HS 812 580 
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• Impaired driving trends are inconsistent. Between 2013 and 2017, the number of impaired 

driving crashes in Maryland rose and fell. Since 2013, there appeared to be a downturn in the 

number of impaired-driving-related crashes reported annually.  

 

• Fatal crashes related to impaired-driving were slowly decreasing. Between 2013 and 2017, 

17,236 persons were either killed or injured in a crash where drugs and/or alcohol were 

involved. From 2013 to 2017, the number of fatal crashes related to impaired driving decreased 

and increased over the years. Statewide, overall fatal crashes have increased by twenty percent 

since 2013.  

 

• Metropolitan areas have the highest concentration of impaired driving crashes3. 

Approximately 95 percent all impaired driving crashes occurred within the Baltimore and 

Washington metropolitan areas, with 20 percent occurring in Prince George’s County.  

 

 

• Weekends and late evening hours have the highest number of impaired 

crashes. Impaired driving crashes rise and fall throughout the year. Over 

56 percent of all impaired crashes occurred on a Friday, Saturday, or 

early Sunday. Twice as many impaired driving crashes occurred on a 

Saturday or early Sunday as did on a Monday. Crashes resulting in death 

or injury were highest on Saturdays and Sundays (early morning hours). 

Crashes begin to increase from 5 p.m. through the early morning hours 

and see a dramatic fall after 3 a.m.  

  

                                                           
3Baltimore Metropolitan area is comprised of Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, and Howard Counties, and 
Baltimore City as designated by the Baltimore Metropolitan Council. The Washington Metropolitan Area is defined 
as Charles, Frederick, Montgomery, and Prince George's Counties as designated by the Metropolitan Washington 
Council of Governments. 
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1 out of 2 impaired 

drivers involved in a 

motor vehicle crash 

were 21–39 years 

old. 
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• Impaired drivers in their twenties were involved in a disproportionate number of crashes. Three out of 

ten impaired drivers were 21–29 years old. Impaired drivers in their twenties were involved in nearly 35 

percent of crashes resulting in an injury or death.  

 

 

BACKGROUND  

Maryland’s Fight Against Impaired Driving 

Maryland proactively combats impaired driving through collaborative partnerships between State 

agencies, legislative and judicial leaders, regional authorities, local government agencies, and 

nongovernmental organizations. These partnerships strengthen and enforce impaired driving laws and 

help to educate the public about the dangers of impaired driving. Together these agencies have joined 

forces to form Maryland’s Impaired Driving Emphasis Area Team. This team, made up of nearly 50 

private and public members, help to address the complex issue of impaired driving by sharing 

information, resources, and expertise on the education, health, enforcement, and judicial issues 

surrounding impaired driving.   

 
Ignition Interlock Program: What is it? How is it significant to the fight against drunk driving? 

Ignition Interlock is a tool that helps to keep drunk drivers off our roads.  It allows drivers to continue 
driving -- but only when sober.  An individual participating in the Ignition Interlock program can only 
operate motor vehicles that are equipped with an ignition interlock device. 
 
An ignition interlock device is an alcohol detection device that is connected to a vehicle’s ignition 
system.  The driver must blow into a mouthpiece connected to the device, allowing the device to 
measure the driver’s breath alcohol content (BAC). The device prevents the vehicle from starting if the 
driver’s BAC registers greater than .025.  The device also asks for additional retests while the vehicle is in 
motion; however, it is not necessary to stop driving while taking a retest.  The device also records 
information about use that is reviewed by the Service Provider every thirty days. 
 
If eligible, a driver may immediately opt-in – “elect” to participate in Maryland’s Ignition Interlock 

Program instead of serving the Administrative Per Se suspension period (see Impaired Driving 

Laws).  “Opt-in” instructions can be found on the reverse side of the driver’s copy of the "Order of 

Suspension."  

 

For information on Maryland’s Ignition Interlock program, visit http://www.mva.maryland.gov/About-

MVA/INFO/26200/26200-14T.htm.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/impaired/maryland-impaired-driving-laws.htm
http://www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/impaired/maryland-impaired-driving-laws.htm
http://www.mva.maryland.gov/About-MVA/INFO/26200/26200-14T.htm
http://www.mva.maryland.gov/About-MVA/INFO/26200/26200-14T.htm
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MARYLAND’S IMPAIRED DRIVING LAWS 

Effective laws are essential to preventing the tragedies that result from impaired driving. Maryland has 

enacted major changes to its impaired driving laws over the last several years, including increased 

penalties and expansion of the ignition interlock program. 

WHEN YOU ARE PULLED OVER AND AN OFFICER SUSPECTS ALCOHOL: 

The officer will require you to submit to a field sobriety test and/or submit to blood alcohol 

concentration (BAC) test. BAC is the amount (grams) of alcohol present in a 100 milliliter (ml) volume of 

blood. For example, 80 mg is 0.08 grams, 0.08 grams of alcohol in 100 ml is written as 0.08%. This value 

can also be described as 0.08 BAC. Above a certain BAC, you are legally considered impaired. 

If you test above the legal limit for alcohol (0.08 BAC), or refuse an officer’s request to submit to a 
chemical test for alcohol or drug use: 

• You will be issued an Order of Suspension (form #DR-015A) along with your traffic citation(s). 

• The police officer will confiscate your Maryland driver's license and may issue you a 45-day 
temporary paper license. 

For more information, see http://www.mva.maryland.gov/About-MVA/INFO/26100/26100-50T.htm.  

 
IMPAIRED DRIVING CONVICTIONS 

If you are convicted of an impaired driving offense, you face both criminal and administrative (license) 
penalties and sanctions. 

If you are convicted of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol (DUI): 

• For a first offense, you face up to a $1,000 fine and up to one year in jail. Twelve (12) points will 

be assessed on your driving record and your license may be revoked for up to six (6) months. 

• For a second offense, you face a $2,000 fine and up to two years of imprisonment (with a 

mandatory minimum of five days). Twelve (12) points will be assessed on your license and your 

license may be revoked for up to one year. 

• For two convictions within five years, a mandatory period of suspension will be followed by a 

minimum required period of participation in the Ignition Interlock Program. 

• You may be required to participate in an alcohol abuse assessment and program. 

If you are convicted of Driving while Impaired by Alcohol (DWI): 

• For a first offense, you face up to a $500 fine and up to two months of imprisonment. Eight (8) 

points will be assessed on your driving record, and you face a 6-month license suspension.  If 

this conviction is the result of a driver under 21, you will face a 1-year suspension. 

• For a second DWI offense, you face up to a $500 fine and up to one year of imprisonment. Eight 

(8) points will be assessed on your driving record, and you face a license suspension of 9 to 12 

months.  If this conviction is the result of a driver under 21, you will face a 2-year suspension. 

The penalties are higher if you are transporting a minor at the time of the offense or for a third offense. 

http://www.mva.maryland.gov/About-MVA/INFO/26100/26100-50T.htm
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UNDERAGE DRINKING AND FAKE ID LAWS 

If you are under 21 and found to have purchased, possessed or consumed alcohol, you face a fine of up 

to $500 for your first offense and $1,000 for your second or subsequent offense. 

Anyone under 21 who violates their alcohol restriction must agree to be automatically enrolled into the 

ignition interlock program or face suspension. If assignment to the ignition interlock program is for a 

second alcohol violation in five years, the duration of participation is determined by the number of 

times the individual has been assigned to interlock due to one of these violations. 

• If you are under 21 and in possession of a fake ID, you face: 

o A fine of up to $500 

o Up to two months in prison 

o 12 points on your license 

o Driver’s license suspension or revocation 

• If you are caught selling fake IDs, you face: 

o A fine of up to $2,000 for each fake ID sold 

o Up to two years in jail for each fake ID sold 

o You are also subject to prosecution for violating federal and homeland security laws 

• If you are over 21 and knowingly furnish alcohol to a minor, you face: 

o A fine of up to $2,500 for the first violation 

o A fine of up to $5,000 for a second or subsequent violation 

 

REPEAT OFFENDER 

If you are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol and you have had a prior driving under the 
influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substance violation within five years of the date of the 
violation, your license will be suspended for one year followed by participation in the Ignition Interlock 
Program for one year. You may, if eligible opt into the Program for one year in lieu of your suspension. 

For more information, visit www.goo.gl/XXCqWA   
 

NOAH’S LAW 

The Drunk Driving Reduction Act of 2016, also known as 'Noah's Law,' requires drivers to enroll in 
Maryland’s Ignition Interlock Program for the following convictions: 

• Driving under the influence (DUI); 

• Driving while impaired (DWI) while transporting a minor under the age of 16; 

• Driving while intoxicated with an initial breathalyzer test refusal; and 

• Homicide or life-threatening injury by motor vehicle while DUI or DWI. 

For more information on Noah’s Law, visit http://www.mva.maryland.gov/safety/mhso/program-

impaired-driving-prevention.htm  

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.goo.gl/XXCqWA
http://www.mva.maryland.gov/safety/mhso/program-impaired-driving-prevention.htm
http://www.mva.maryland.gov/safety/mhso/program-impaired-driving-prevention.htm
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MARYLAND’S IMPAIRED DRIVING PREVENTION PROGRAMS 

Impaired Driving Enforcement Efforts 

• The Maryland Highway Safety Office supports enforcement and education programs aimed at 

preventing impaired driving.  Below are a few highlights: 

o Checkpoint StrikeForce - Checkpoint StrikeForce, which is part of the national 

driving mobilization, is a research-based, multi-state enforcement and public 

outreach initiative designed to get impaired drivers off our roads using sobriety 

checkpoints and saturation patrols when and where drunk driving is most likely to 

occur.  The initiative is intended to educate the public about dangers and 

consequences of drunk driving and make the public aware of active enforcement 

efforts taking place statewide and regionally.  

o State Police Impaired Driving Effort (SPIDRE)- The SPIDRE team is a group of highly 

trained MSP Troopers that conduct impaired driving enforcement initiatives across a 

“web” that spans jurisdictions primarily through the Baltimore and Washington 

metropolitan areas. When the SPIDRE team enters assigned corridors, they work in 

concert with that jurisdiction’s allied police agencies, ensuring a coordinated and 

collaborative approach to apprehending impaired drivers, which has proven wildly 

successful. The team uses the High Visibility Enforcement (HVE) model, pairing 

enforcement efforts with media. In FFY 2014, advertisements were featured on 

billboards, transit shelters and targeted gas pumps, as well as, radio and digital 

components in areas where the team was deployed. On July 2, 2014, state officials 

and law enforcement partners hosted a press event to highlight the one-year 

anniversary of Maryland’s SPIDRE team. 

• Alternative Transportation Programs 

The Washington Regional Alcohol Program’s (WRAP) WRAP’s free safe ride service to prevent 

drunk driving in the Washington-metropolitan area, SoberRide® is served by new ridesharing 

partner, Lyft; and is exclusively accessible via Lyft’s mobile app platform.  SoberRide® serves 

both Montgomery and Prince George’s Counties.  Should a person under the influence need a 

safe ride home during targeted holidays and special events, the SoberRide® program provides 

them with a reliable option.   

• Anne Arundel, Harford St. Mary’s & Howard County District Courts – DUI/Drug Courts 

The DUI/Drug Court is designed to address high-risk individuals over the age of 18 who have 

been charged with multiple DUI/DWI’s, offering them a highly intensive monitoring and 

rehabilitative treatment program. Eligible individuals will have a prior history of DUI or DWI 

convictions, no pending sentences, or warrants, and will not currently be on parole or 

probation. The program diverts offenders from long periods of incarceration and focuses on 

treatment and providing lifelong tools to avoid alcohol misuse, abuse and addiction that lead to 

drunk driving. Maryland continues to work with the Maryland Office of Problem Solving Courts 

to expand the program in other high-risk jurisdictions. 
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WHO TO CONTACT ABOUT IMPAIRED DRIVING IN MARYLAND 

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION MOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATION 

• Contact: MDOT MVA’s Press Information at 410-762-5188 

 

MARYLAND STATE POLICE - Maryland DUI Laws, Intoximeter, Standardized Field Sobriety Testing 

• Media Communications at (410) 653-4343 
 

MOTHERS AGAINST DRUNK DRIVING - Maryland DUI legislation, Victims Impact Panel, Sobriety 
Checkpoints, DUI Court Monitoring 

• Maryland Chapter of MADD at (410)-964-5757 

www.madd.org  

 

WASHINGTON REGIONAL ALCOHOL PROGRAM - Business Outreach, SoberRide® Program, Advocacy, 
Public Education 

• Washington Regional Alcohol Program at (703)-893-0461 

www.wrap.org  
 

 

http://www.madd.org/
http://www.wrap.org/

