
ADVICE OF RIGHTS – (Maryland Transportation Article §16-205.1)
You have been stopped or detained and reasonable grounds exist to believe that you have been driving or attempting to drive a motor vehicle under circumstances 
requiring that you be asked to submit to a test under Maryland Transportation Article §16-205.1. In this situation, the law deems that you have consented to take a test 
to measure the alcohol concentration or drug or controlled dangerous substance content in your system. You may refuse to submit to the test(s), unless you were in a 
motor vehicle accident resulting in the death of or life-threatening injury to another person.

Suspension of Your Maryland Driver’s License or Driving Privilege:
If you refuse to submit to the test, or if you submit to the test and the result indicates an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more at the time of testing, your Maryland 
driver’s license shall be confiscated, you will be issued an Order of Suspension and, if eligible, a temporary license valid for 45 days. The following periods of suspension 
shall be imposed against your license or privilege to drive in Maryland:

If you refuse to submit to a test, your suspension shall be 270 days for a 1st offense and 2 years for a 2nd or subsequent offense.
	 If your test result is an alcohol concentration of at least 0.08 but less than 0.15, your suspension shall be 180 days. If the offense involves a motor vehicle 
accident that resulted in the death of another person, your suspension shall be 6 months for a 1st offense and 1 year for a 2nd or subsequent offense.

If your test result is an alcohol concentration of 0.08 but less than 0.15, your suspension may be modified or a restricted license may be issued at a hearing. 
If your test result is an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or more, your suspension shall be 180 days for a 1st offense and 270 days for a 2nd or subsequent 

offense. If the offense involves a motor vehicle accident that resulted in the death of another person, your suspension shall be 1 year for a 1st offense and for a 
2nd or subsequent offense your license shall be revoked.
 If you refuse a test, or take a test with a result of 0.15 or more, you shall be ineligible for modification of your suspension or the issuance of a restricted 
license, unless you participate in the Ignition Interlock System Program under Maryland Transportation Article §16-404.1. 

 If you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and were driving a non-commercial motor vehicle when you were stopped, and you refuse to submit to a test, 
your CDL or privilege shall be disqualified for 1 year for a 1st offense or for life if your CDL or privilege has been previously disqualified for at least 1 year under 
Maryland Transportation Article §16-812 (a) or (b), a federal law, or any other state’s law. 

 If you were operating a commercial motor vehicle and your test result indicates an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more, or if you refuse to submit to a test, your 
commercial driver’s license or privilege shall be disqualified for a period of 1 year for a 1st offense, 3 years for a 1st offense committed while transporting hazardous 
materials required to be placarded, and disqualified for life if your commercial driver’s license has been previously disqualified for at least 1 year and/or you have 
incurred 2 offenses of Maryland Transportation Article §16-812 (a) or (b), a federal law, or any substantially similar offense(s) under any other state’s law.

 If you are convicted of a drunk or drugged driving offense under Maryland Transportation Article §21-902, and the judge or jury finds beyond a reasonable 
doubt that you knowingly refused to take a test of breath arising out of the same circumstances, an additional criminal penalty of not more than $500 or imprisonment for 
not more than 2 months, or both, may be imposed under Maryland Transportation Article §21-902 (g).

 If you are convicted of a drunk or drugged driving offense under Maryland Transportation Article §21-902 (b) or (c), and the judge or jury  
finds beyond a reasonable doubt that you knowingly refused to take a test of breath arising out of the same circumstances, the Court shall require you, under Maryland 
Transportation Article §21-902.3, to participate in the Ignition Interlock System Program for 1 year pursuant to Maryland Transportation Article §16-404.1.

You may request an Administrative Hearing at any time within 30 days of the date of the Order of Suspension to show cause why your driver’s license or privilege 
should not be suspended. You must request a hearing within 10 days of the date of the Order of Suspension to ensure that your privilege to drive is not suspended prior to 
your hearing. Your request for a hearing must be made in writing. You may use the “Hearing Request” form if available. Send your request to the Office of Administrative 
Hearings at 11101 Gilroy Rd., Hunt Valley, MD 21031-1301. You must include a check or money order for $150.00, which is the required filing fee, made payable to the 
“Maryland State Treasurer.” Your request for a hearing will be invalid if submitted without the required $150.00 filing fee or applicable fee waiver.

Your driver’s license or privilege will be suspended on the 46th day after the Order of Suspension if you do not request a hearing within 10 days of the 
date of the Order of Suspension or, if eligible, you do not elect within 30 days of the Order of Suspension to participate in the Ignition Interlock System Program. In 
order to receive credit for the suspension, you must surrender your driver’s license or certify that you no longer have the license in your possession. 
If you submit a valid hearing request, a suspension will not be imposed unless a decision is rendered against you, or if you fail to appear for the hearing.

Instead of requesting a hearing or upon the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, you may elect to participate in the Ignition Interlock System 
Program if the following conditions are met: 1) your driver’s license is not currently suspended, revoked, canceled, or refused; and 2) within 30 days of the date of this 
Order of Suspension you a) elect in writing to participate in the Ignition Interlock System Program for 1 year if your test resulted in an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or 
more or you refused the test or 6 months if your test resulted in an alcohol concentration of at least 0.08 but less than 0.15; and b) surrender a valid Maryland driver’s 
license or sign a statement certifying that the license is no longer in your possession. An Ignition Interlock Election form is located on the reverse side of the driver’s copy 
of the Order of Suspension.

Certification: I, the Undersigned Police Officer, certify under the penalties of perjury, that I have advised the driver of the above stated rights and sanctions and 
have provided the driver with the aforementioned advice in: English and Spanish.

Certificación: Yo, el oficial de policía abajo firmante, certifico bajo pena de perjurio que he aconsejado al conductor acerca de sus derechos y sanciones arriba 
mencionados, y que le he proporcionado la notificación arriba mencionada al conductor en: inglés y español.

Signature of Officer______________________________________ 	I.D. No._ ___________________	Police Agency__________________________________
Firma del Oficial	 N.º de Identificación	 I.E Agencia de Policía

Read before Signing: I, the undersigned driver, acknowledge that I have been read or I have read the above stated Advice of Rights as certified by the police 
officer. I understand that this requested test is in addition to any preliminary tests that were taken.

Leer Antes de Firmar: Yo, el conductor abajo firmante, reconozco que me han leído o he leído la Notificación de Derechos arriba mencionada según lo certifica 
el oficial de policía. Comprendo que esta prueba solicitada es adicional a cualquier prueba preliminar que se haya realizado.

Having been so advised, do you now agree to submit to a test? (Officer check driver’s reply)
Habiendo sido de este modo notificado, está Usted de acuerdo ahora en someterse a la prueba? (Oficial, revise la respuesta del conductor)

❑	Yes - Agree to submit to an alcohol concentration test	 ❑	Yes - Agree to submit to a test for drug or controlled dangerous substance (CDS)
Sí – Acepta someterse a una prueba de concentración		 Sí – Acepta someterse a una prueba de drogas o sustancias peligrosas controladas (CDS)
de alcohol en la sangre

❑	No - Alcohol concentration test, refused ❑	No - Drug or CDS test refused (DRE must complete & submit DRE Certification Form)
No – La prueba de concentración de alcohol en la No – La prueba de drogas o CDS ha sido rechazada
sangre ha sido rechazada

Signature of Driver________________________________ 	Date__________________ 	 Time________________ 	 DR-015A Control #___________________
Firma del conductor	 Fecha	 Hora
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NOTIFICACIÓN DE DERECHOS - (Artículo de Transporte de Maryland, Sección 16-205.1)
A Usted lo han parado o detenido y existen motivos razonables para creer que estaba conduciendo o intentaba conducir un vehículo motorizado bajo circunstancias que requieren que se 
le solicite que se someta a una prueba según la Sección 16-205.1 del Artículo de Transporte de Maryland. En esta situación, la ley considera que Usted ha consentido tomar una prueba 
para medir la concentración de alcohol o drogas o el contenido de sustancias controladas peligrosas en su cuerpo. Usted puede rehusar tomar las pruebas, a menos que Usted estuviese 
en un accidente de tráfico que haya resultado en la muerte o en una lesión que amenace la vida de otra persona.

Suspensión de su Licencia de Conducir de Maryland o Privilegio de Conducir:
Si Usted rehusa someterse a la prueba, o se realiza la prueba y el resultado indica una concentración de alcohol de 0.08 o más en el momento de la prueba, su licencia de conducir 
de Maryland será confiscada, se le expedirá una Orden de Suspensión y, si es elegible, una licencia temporal válida por 45 días. Se impondrán los siguientes períodos de suspensión 
en contra de su licencia o del privilegio de conducir en Maryland:

Si Usted rehusa someterse a una prueba, su suspensión será de 270 días por una primera infracción y de 2 años por una segunda y subsiguiente infracción.
Si su prueba resulta en una concentración de alcohol de por lo menos 0.08 pero inferior a 0.15, la suspensión será de 180 días. Si la infracción involucra un 

accidente automovilístico que resultó en la muerte de otra persona la suspensión será de 6 meses por la primera infracción y de 1 año por una segunda o subsiguiente 
infracción.

Si el resultado de la prueba es una concentración de alcohol de por lo menos 0.08 pero inferior a 0.15, su suspensión puede ser modificada o se le puede expedir una 
licencia restrictiva en una audiencia.

Si el resultado de la prueba es una concentración de alcohol de 0.15 o más, la suspensión será de 180 días por una primera infracción y 270 días por una segunda o 
subsiguiente infracción. Si la infracción involucra un accidente de tráfico que resultó en la muerte de otra persona la suspensión será de 1 año por la primera infracción 
y por una segunda o subsiguiente infracción su licencia será revocada.

Si Usted rehusa tomar una prueba o toma la prueba con un resultado de 0.15 o más, no será elegible para que le modifiquen su suspensión o para que le expidan 
una licencia restrictiva, a menos que participe en el Programa del Sistema Interruptor de Encendido (Ignition Interlock System Program) conforme a la Sección  
16-404.1 del Artículo de Transporte de Maryland.

Si Usted posee una licencia para conducir vehículos comerciales (CDL, en sus siglas en inglés) y estaba conduciendo un vehículo motorizado no comercial cuando lo 
pararon, y rehusa someterse a una prueba, su CDL o el privilegio de conducir será descalificado por 1 año por una primera infracción o de por vida si su CDL o el privilegio ha sido 
descalificado anteriormente al menos por 1 año bajo la Sección 16-812 (a) o (b) del Artículo del Transporte de Maryland, una ley federal, o cualquier otra ley estatal.

Si Usted estaba conduciendo un vehículo motorizado comercial y el resultado de la prueba indica una concentración de alcohol de 0.04 o más, o si Usted rehusa 
someterse a la prueba, su licencia comercial de conducir o privilegio de conducir será descalificado por el período de 1 año por la primera infracción, por 3 años por la primera 
infracción cometida al transportar materiales peligrosos que deben rotularse, y se descalificaran de por vida si su licencia comercial de conducir ha sido descalificada previamente 
al menos por 1 año y/o cometió 2 infracciones conforme a la Sección 16-812(a) o (b) del Artículo de Transporte de Maryland, una ley federal, o cualesquier otra(s) infracción(es) 
sustancialmente similar(es) bajo cualquier otra ley estatal.

Si lo declaran culpable de una ofensa de conducer ebrio o drogado bajo la Sección 21-902 del Artículo de Transporte de Maryland, y el juez o jurado considera, más 
allá de toda duda razonable, que Usted se negó a sabiendas a tomar una prueba de aliento que resulta de las mismas circunstancias, se le puede imponer una sanción penal adicional 
de no más de $500 o encarcelamiento por no más de 2 meses, o ambas sanciones, bajo la Sección 21-902 (g) del Artículo de Transporte de Maryland.

Si lo declaran culpable de una ofensa de conducer ebrio o drogado bajo la Sección 21-902 (b) o (c), y el juez o el jurado concluye más allá de toda duda razonable que 
Usted a sabiendas se negó a tomar una prueba de aliento que resulta de las mismas circunstancias. el Tribunal podrá requerir, bajo la Sección 21-902.3 del Artículo de Transporte 
de Maryland, que participe en el Programa del Sistema Interruptor de Encendido (Ignition Interlock System Program) durante 1 año conforme a la Sección 16-404.1 del Artículo de 
Transporte de Maryland.

Usted puede solicitar una Audiencia Administrativa en cualquier momento en un plazo de 30 días a partir de la fecha de la Orden de Suspensión para aducir con buenos 
argumentos por qué su licencia de conducir o el privilegio de conducir no deben ser suspendidos. Usted debe solicitar una audiencia dentro del plazo de 10 días a partir de la fecha 
de la Orden de Suspensión para asegurar que su privilegio de conducir no se suspenda antes de su audiencia. Su solicitud para obtener una audiencia debe hacerse por escrito. Usted 
puede usar el formulario titulado “Solicitud de Audiencia”, si está disponible. Envíe su solicitud a la Oficina de Audiencias Administrativas: Office of Administrative Hearings, 
11101 Gilroy Rd., Hunt Valley, MD 21031-1301. Debe incluir un cheque o giro postal por $150.00, que es la tarifa requirida, pagadero al “Maryland State Treasurer”. Su petición 
de audiencia no será válida si se envía sin el pago requerido de $150.00 o sin la exención de la tasa aplicable.

Su Licencia o Privilegio de Conducir serán suspendidos a los 46 días posteriores de la Orden de Suspensión si Usted no solicita una audiencia dentro 10 días a partir de la 
fecha de la Orden de Suspensión o, si es elegible, Usted no elige participar dentro de los 30 días a partir de la fecha de la Orden de Suspensión en el Programa del Sistema Interruptor 
de Encendido (Ignition Interlock System Program). Para recibir crédito por la suspensión, debe entregar su licencia de manejo o certificar que ya no tiene la licencia en su posesión. Si 
Usted presenta una solicitud de audiencia válida, no se impondrá una suspensión a menos que se tome una decisión en su contra, o si Usted no comparece a la audiencia.

En lugar de solicitar una audiencia, o luego de la suspensión o revocación de su licencia de manejo, Usted puede elegir participar en el Programa del Sistema 
Interruptor de Encendido (Ignition Interlock System Program) si se cumplen las condiciones siguientes: 1) su licencia de conducir no está actualmente suspendida, revocada, 
cancelada, o denegada; 2) en un plazo de 30 días a partir de la fecha de esta Orden de la Suspensión Usted a) elige por escrito participar en el Programa del Sistema Interruptor 
de Encendido (Ignition Interlock System Program) por 1 año, si su prueba resultó en una concentración de alcohol de 0.15 o más, o si se negó a hacerse la prueba; o por 6 meses, 
si su prueba resultó en una concentración de alcohol de 0.08 pero menos de 0.15; y b) entrega su licencia de conducir de Maryland válida o firma una declaración certificando 
que la licencia ya no está en su posesión. En el reverso de la copia del conductor de la Orden de Suspensión se encuentra un formulario para seleccionar el Programa del Sistema 
Interruptor de Encendido (Ignition Interlock System Program).
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